The name is Charles, Wendell Charles

wendell & aidan

Recognizable me:  My name is Wendell Charles and I am currently a senior at the University of Colorado at Boulder. During my sophomore year, I chose political science as my major due to the fact that I became enamored with politics during the 2012 United States presidential election. Within the realm of political science, I am particularly interested in topics pertaining to foreign policy, international affairs, and political theory. I decided to attend the University of Colorado because it afforded me the opportunity to receive a quality education in one of the most aesthetically pleasing places in the country. In addition to that, I enjoy exploring the outdoors, so deciding to attend this particular University was an easy decision. While I am not exploring the outdoors, I enjoy playing pick up basketball, reading, and listening to music. Before coming to Colorado, I lived in Princeton, New Jersey. I was born and raised in Princeton, which was also a fantastic place to grow up. I grew up in a house on the outskirts of town with my parents, three sisters, and my grandmother. While growing up, I participated in several sports such as lacrosse, wrestling, basketball, and soccer. However, after spending eighteen years there, one grows tired of it.

Where I’m at: As of right now, I am in Boulder, Colorado, living in my apartment with my roommate. At the start of the summer, I flew back to Princeton, New Jersey in order to complete an internship with Braun Research, which is a market research company located right outside of town. While I was working there, I was a financial research associate. However, do not let that title lead you astray, it only sounds good. The majority of my duties were quite monotonous in nature. Essentially, I would do any task that the CFO did not feel like doing. Luckily, I did manage to pick up some useful skills and knowledge throughout my internship and I am hoping that my experience there will enable me to find more employment in the financial sector. Unfortunately, in the financial industry, often times one has to endure a few boring summer internships before procuring meaningful employment. By the end of this summer, I will have completed all of my degree requirements and plan on taking some time off to travel before officially entering the job market. My family is from the island of Haiti, so travelling there would be ideal; I have never been there.

What I want:  As I mentioned before, I do need to take this class to fulfill my degree requirements. However, there were several other classes that would have satisfied this core requirement, but I felt as though this class would be the most practical. In my opinion, being able to write well is one of the most important skills an individual could possess in any industry. I have spoken with many accomplished individuals who work in the financial sector and they claim that the ability to communicate effectively is absolutely necessary in the business world. Therefore, I believe that taking this class will teach me some valuable lessons about effective writing that I will be able to apply to real-life scenarios. Furthermore, I find the group project component of this class intriguing. More often than not, employees must have the ability to collaborative effectively. Throughout my college career at the University of Colorado, I have seldom encountered a class that required me to participate in a group project, so I hope that this class will provide me with that experience. Additionally, I know that my writing is not perfect and I am always eager to improve the stylistic and mechanical aspects of my writing.

Where to find me: I do have a presence on social media, but the only form of social media that I use consistently is Snapchat. However, I do have an Instagram as well, but once again, I do not post very often; however, I do enjoy looking at the pictures that other accounts post. In my free time, I do a lot of reading so you may be able to find at the Boulder Bookstore, or the library on campus. As far as music goes, my preferences span across a diverse spectrum. In a nutshell, I like everything. I also played the piano while I was growing up, so I do enjoy messing around on the keys whenever I get the chance. The basketball court is another place where you could find me. I have loved the sport ever since I was a little kid and grew up idolizing Michael Jordan. My favorite team is the New York Knicks, but since I have moved out here, I have been to a fair amount of Denver Nuggets games. I feel lucky to live in a place that allows me to enjoy all of my favorite extra curricular activities with ease.

One thought on “The name is Charles, Wendell Charles

  1. Hi Wendell! I’m surprised you haven’t done many group projects! No worries, plenty of your colleagues here are in Leeds and they’ve got group management skills to share. Glad to have you in class!

Leave a Reply

