A Few More Steps In The Right Direction

With only a few days left in 3040 and Beyond, I feel accomplished and better prepared for the professional world that I am quickly entering.  This course has left me with more valuable tools and information than most of the courses I have taken at CU.  Writing a “stock” cover letter and learning how to tailor it to a specific position, perfecting my resume, and most importantly developing my own personal brand has all helped me position myself as a stronger candidate for future employment.

So, What’s Next?

With only a year left of school, the real world is approaching fast.  Thankfully, with the help of this class, I have taken a few steps in the right direction of preparing myself for the job market. However, it is a continuous task that will take much more revision along the way. Screen Shot 2015-08-06 at 11.02.14 PM I would like to grow and develop my personal brand and look into an internship in the spring that would help competitively position myself to others seeking employment in the medical sales industry.  This summer I worked at Uber and did marketing for the company.  My boss offered me a Campus Representative job throughout the school year so I can continue developing my sales and marketing skills at the CU campus.  I love working for Uber as it has provided me great opportunities and hands on experience in marketing that will surely help prepare me for my next steps down the road after graduation.

Personal Branding 

Personal branding didn’t mean much to me four weeks ago.  That has since all changed.  I now know the importance of developing a cohesive and authentic image that people can associate with you.  This takes time and to make my personal brand connected I will continue to add new experiences and skills that will help me grow my image and build authenticity in my repertoire.  Building my website on WordPress is a great foundation for my personal brand as I am now able to modify and enhance it as my life progresses.

My Site!

Screen Shot 2015-08-06 at 11.03.21 PMAnd here it is, my personal branding website! I am pretty happy with the way it turned out and feel that it represents me well. I think having this site is a great addition to showing employers who I am and what I am capable of.  I like the simplicity of my site and how it is very easy to navigate. However, with simplicity you often give up some features that would help add a little pizzazz to the site.  In the future, I might take a look at some different themes in order to better represent my personal brand such as the ability to have different images on each page.  With time I will develop a polished brand authentic to my true self, but that will come a few steps at a time.

Leave a Reply

