GQ

Recognizable Me: My name is Garrison Quinn, and I am a 20 year old Junior at the University of Colorado Boulder. I have been a buff since I can remember, and would have never gone anywhre else. I was born in Denver, Colorado and lived in this beautiful state until I moved to Scottsdale, Arizona in the 1st grade. I spent 8 years in the desert before moving back to Colorado where I went to Regis Jesuit High School. I love playing sports, hanging out with friends, and listening to music. This journey was made possible by my great big family people like to call “The Quinn Bunch”. My father, Kevin Quinn, is a Commercial Banker from Denver. My mother, Elizabeth Ferris Quinn, is a stay-at-home-mom from Harlingen, Texas. Some would say being a stay-at-home-mom is the easier job, but not when you’ve raised six children. Ranging from 26 years of age to 12, the stereo-typical  Catholic family is made up of 3 boys and 3 girls. With no better way to describe myself, I am the lucky, or unlucky, middle child.

Garrison Quinn_006117_@Where you’re at: After a long summer of living at home with my family, I have moved back to Boulder for this semester. I say long summer, because I wanted to find a job in Boulder and not have to move back to Denver. I love my family and love spending time with them even more. But, after you experience the taste of freedom that being on your own in Boulder provides, you never want to go back.  After a long winter job search, I was hired as an Analyst Intern for SDR Ventures, Inc., an investment bank located in the Denver Tech Center. It was a great experience and I learned more than I could have imagined. Now, I am back in Boulder pursuing my Finance Major and working for the Colorado Football Team. I am a student equipment manager, where I am given the opportunity to run practices and travel with the team. I chose not to travel to Hawaii because of responsibilities here in Boulder. This has been a great opportunity to expand my network and be involved with a program I have supported since day 1. One thing that has taken up most of my time recently is figuring out my living situation. I was scheduled to move into my house on August 15, which has continually been pushed back due to construction. I am hopeful to be moved in by September 15, but it is hard to be sure of when the time will finally come. Because of this, I have been living in the Marriott on 28th St, which is not ideal. Lets just say I have slept on plenty of couches the past month. I am lucky to have very hospitable friends.

What you want: After spending a summer being exposed to the world of business, I quickly realized how important it is to convey the most amount of information in the least amount of words. After spending 10 hours/ day in excel files and powerpoint, I would say my skills improved 10 fold. But, after 15 years of schooling that constantly requires the fluff to hit a certain amount of words, I have developed very bad writing habits. My goal for this class is to improve my business vocabulary and learn how to effectively write dense and concise information without including errant information.

Where to find me: When I am not in class or in the library, I spend the majority of my time either at work at the Dal Ward Center/ Champions Center, or with my fraternity. Being the president of Pi Kappa Phi, I spend most of my day dealing with advisors, nationals, brothers, etc. It has proven to be much more work than I could have ever imagined, but is beneficial not only for my own professional and social development, but for the greater good of the Fraternity.

GO BUFFS

Advertisements

One thought on “GQ

  1. I am so, so not a fan of word counts, which you might find weird, because there’s a word count attached to everything in this class. So let me put it this way, the word count freaks me out but we’re required to have it. The best thing I can tell you is that I’ve tried really hard to make the word count directly correlate with how long it takes to say thing the right way, rather than mindless volume. Wow, that’s a lot about word count. I have really strong feelings about it though because I spent most my time as an English major freaking out over it. I grew up in Parker, so I’m familiar with Regis and I’m also a lifelong Buff (all my degrees are from CU and I still teach here, even though I live in St. Louis now — that’s commitment!).

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s