Two Dots over the “e”

Recognizable me: Hi all, I’m Zoe and as you might have guessed, it’s spelled with two dots over the letter “e.” I’m following in my dad’s footsteps by attending CU and couldn’t be happier. While I didn’t stray too far from home (15-20 minutes tops), living in beautiful Boulder is the best decision I’ve made thus far. Besides school, something else you need to know about me, and I may be slightly biased, but I have reason to believe I have the cutest dog in the world. His name is Bentley and he’s a german shepherd lab mix. When I’m not snuggling or playing with him, Screen Shot 2015-09-04 at 11.45.08 AMYou can find me hiking, running, or reading. I love becoming consumed in books and can’t read enough. I do face the struggle of not having enough time to read all the books I want to though. There’s so many amazing books out there and not enough time, especially during the school year. Since my time time in college, I’ve become more independent and exploratory. I’ve become passionate about seeing the world through different lenses. I’m hoping to study abroad this spring or summer and cannot wait. I’m eager to see amazing places and meet amazing people.

Where I’m at:  I’m a junior accounting major hoping to get into the five year masters program here at CU. I’m also hoping to get an internship this next year and further pursue my career in accounting. I’m especially interested in forensic accounting, which is essentially investigative accounting and think it would be an exciting career down the accounting road. I’ll be taking the GMAT in the next few months so I’m a little overwhelmed with school and planning for the future. In addition to being a student, I also am a server part-time. Working in the service industry has taught me about patience like you would not believe. It’s also helped me with multitasking and people skills.

What I want: I’m genuinely committed to becoming a professional polished business writer. I’m hoping to acquire skills to help me throughout my professional business career. I want to come off as an intelligent confident professional and I believe this class can help me reach those goals.  I want to improve my resume and cover letter. I want to learn how to convince others that I meet their standards as well as exceed them. I feel as though I know little about what it means to write in this manner. Obviously, I want my resume to stand out.

Where to find me: I, like many others in my generation, can be found engrossed in social media. However, there’s so much more out there and Boulder is the perfect way to experience that. Of course, I’ll be seen up at Chautauqua several times this year and hoping to get to up to Rocky Mountain National Park soon. Besides hiking and being outdoors, I love eating…who doesn’t? I love trying new restaurants and new foods. I think I’m pretty open minded and will try almost all food once. I’m so fortunate to live in Boulder with almost too many restaurants to choose from and the same goes for Denver. There’s just not enough time or money to try them all. If you have any good suggestions please tell me! Besides overindulging in food, I overindulge in concerts. I love them. I always say that all my money goes to concerts and food.  It doesn’t matter how many times I’ve seen an artist, I’ll still go to their concert. Of course Red Rocks is the place to be, but Fiddler’s Green and even smaller venues like the Fillmore are still amazing. I love love love country music. My music library isn’t just confined to country, I have a wide array of music from Tom Petty to the Beatles and from Keith Urban to Sublime. I try not to limit myself, so if you have any suggestions, feel free to let me know! I can’t wait to get to know you all through this platform of a class!

Published by

Zoe Golden

I'm a junior at Leeds School of Business at the University of Colorado, Boulder. I'm studying accounting and aspiring to be a CPA.

One thought on “Two Dots over the “e”

  1. Hi Zoe! Your puppy is indeed, very cute. I wish there were more opportunities for us to post pictures of our animals… Alas, why didn’t I make that a requirement for every blog post? What do you like to read?

Leave a Reply

