Millennials

It is no secret that many people fear working with millennials.  From one of the articles I read, people believe millennials to be, “Entitled and don’t want to pay their dues,” “… need special hand-holding at work and are high-maintenance,” “…are great at social media,” “job-hoppers,” and finally ” because these millennials grew up with the internet and social media, they have no concept of privacy.”  This was taken from the article, “5 Workplace Stereotypes About Millennials That Aren’t True.”  After reading this article, I myself thought at least some of the five points were true about my own generation, and even though this article says they are not true, to some extent they most definitely are.  I myself can relate to feeling a sense of entitlement, I grew up thinking I was the best because all my relatives told me I was, and that also ties in to me needing a lot of tender loving care as the article suggests, I like to hear it from my managers when I am doing a good job.  Yet, I do agree with this article that although millennials need these things they do not need these requirements to such a high extent.  Everyone is high-maintenance or entitled at least sometimes, it may just be easier to see in millennials.  I agree with the article in the fact that most people of my age are exceptional with social media, and do not care as much about privacy, and I can understand why older folk may not understand why millennials publish so much of their day-to-day activities, but the easiest way to understand why millennials do this is because it is just how they express themselves.  This type of expression is fine in personnel life, but in the workplace it must be modified.  A good company must see the positive side of its young workers being plugged in to the internet which is a kind of portal to what seems like unlimited information.  If a company uses the skills of its young workers who have the ability to navigate this vast space, they could learn of technological advances, new management practices and many other things to strengthen their companies.  Take an insurance company named “Acuity,” they consult employees on every level of their infrastructure when it comes to strategic planning.  The blend of old experience as well as young minds thinking up new ideas could definitely give a company an edge over its competitors.  I know this blog post is supposed to be directed to other millennials, and I am sure it seems like I am writing it like it is going to be read by some old executive, but that is wrong.  These points are the types of things millennials need to point out to their superiors, and in their interviews for jobs.  This will help show what people of this generation can bring to the table, innovation, new perspectives, and new information, but millennials cannot show their managers this if they do not know how to communicate.  Without communication nothing can get done, so over communicate, that is very important, one can never over communicate.  As far as the workplace goes the picture I have posted at the bottom of this post shows the high and low contexts associated with communication.  Obviously, one will not be able to communicate face-to-face all the time, but take careful care in what you say related to work.  Stay away from humor especially sarcastic humor, it is hard to see sarcasm in a memo, send multiple emails just to be safe, and if a person has not emailed you back in twenty-four hours send another one.  Older employees will respect you more, if you are very specific with what you need or want, no one wants to guess your needs, and few people will take the time, if they do not understand what you are sending them, they will just not do anything about it, and you are back where you started.

High-Context-Low-Context

5 Workplace Stereotypes About Millennials That Aren’t True

How To Overcome Communication Barriers

Everything you need to know about your Millennial co-workers

Leave a Reply

