Mirror Mirror

Looking Back: 3040 and Beyond is hugely interactive which is different from other online classes. I think that was a good thing, but also a challenge to find a groove in the beginning.  I think what surprised me the most was how much internal reflection I had throughout the course. This class forced me to reflect on who I want to be both as a person and as an employee.

Challenges: I was most challenged in both the interactiveness of the course as well as who I wanted to be and how I wanted to be portrayed. It was difficult for me deciding exactly what I want my personal brand to reflect of me. I think it was also difficult for me to have a cohesiveness throughout my brand. It was hard to intellectually and thoughtfully put my thoughts into design and presentation. It was also quite a task working on an online group project. I though conventional group projects were tough but boy, this opened my eyes and prepared me for future group projects in both a school and a work setting.  It’s definitely a new experience meeting via Skype and working constantly with google docs. However, through these challenges I feel more prepared than I could imagine.

Screen Shot 2015-12-10 at 1.00.09 PM.pngPersonal Brand: Beyond a doubt, out of everything I’ve gotten out of this class, I take the most pride in my personal brand. Not only did I develop my brand further, but first, I was able to learn about what exactly a personal brand is and means. The internal reflection was extensive and critical for me, especially in the brainstorm. I’ve always had a strong voice and values, and now I believe my personal brand more-so reflects that then it did previously. I think it’s crucial to have a strong brand and image. However, it was quite a challenge to be consistent and really develop a strong image especially across different platforms (website, resume, visual resume). Please take a look at my website and offer any insight or advice you have.

Job Search: Being a junior, I’m on the hunt for both internships and jobs. I’m hoping to get an accounting internship this summer and receive a job offer at the end of it. First, I have to get the internship. By developing a brand, it’s going to help me reach out to employers and create a more memorable persona associated with me. Not only am I going to take my personal brand with me on the job market, but I also learned a great deal about professionalism. The weekly blog posts that I both wrote and read taught me about professionalism in several scenarios. I also learned about user-centered design that I had never considered. Additionally, I am now confident in both my resume as well as my cover letters. I’ve always been a little uneasy about both and this class helped me a lot. I will take these tools I learned with me in my future career.

Continuing On: I believe I will constantly be formatting and developing my website further. It’s one of those projects that will never be quite done. As I grow and develop as a professional, I believe my brand will develop and mature as well. I want to always stay true to myself and values though. I will make sure that my design and elements are cohesive throughout. I still don’t think that I can exactly articulate what I want my brand exactly is, but that’s my goal. It’s going to be difficult but I have faith that what I have learned through this class will help me in the future. I will take these insights with me in my future endeavors. This class gave me tangible things I can use on my job search such as my resume and website. I think that I’m most glad this class  and everything I learned can actually be applied to real life.

Screen Shot 2015-12-10 at 1.01.50 PM.png

 

Published by

Zoe Golden

I'm a junior at Leeds School of Business at the University of Colorado, Boulder. I'm studying accounting and aspiring to be a CPA.

One thought on “Mirror Mirror

Leave a Reply

