A Minute of Introspection

Looking Back: Learning about the ways of the world has always intrigued me. I think that learning is not something done only when we are young and full of youth. Learning is something that we do throughout our entire lives, and the knowledge that we pick up on the way we carry with us forever. Looking back on the semester in the course of 3040 and Beyond we have come a long way. Long ago were the days of writing with no purpose, creating bland emails, and not being able to refer people back to a purposeful, and powerful personal website that shared everything from contact information and resumes’ to personal stories.

Writing 3040 has taught me that no matter how little respect our generation may have for proper punctuation or grammatical awareness; professional writing development will remain an integral part of both our business lives and our personal lives. There have been some challenges this semester with trying interpret where and when to push assignments and go the extra mile especially for a particularly exciting topic, but for the most part I have been very proud of everything I have accomplished this semester.

Looking at the Present:

Personal Brand: I think that I have done very well in re-creating and re-establishing my personal brand. In the course of the semester I have learned how to change my brand depending on what I am currently doing in my life, I know now that it is essential to always be updating and re-inventing our personal brand to ensure that we are being well represented across all fronts. I know my personal values and decisions and I think they definitely were reflected across my personal website. I am so proud and elated to have completed a website that I can direct potential employers to so that they may have a chance to sample some of my collegiate and professional work. I think that this website will be crucial in my future attempts to secure a job, and could ultimately spell the difference between me gaining an extra interview, or making a great impression with a recruiter or employer.

Screen Shot 2015-12-11 at 4.18.28 PM

 

Looking to the Future: 

In no way or shape can I predict the future or where I will be 20 years down the line. However, I feel that this course and all of my courses at the University of Colorado will have prepared me for any obstacle and challenge that I might face. One of my favorite quotes that I heard about ones time in school was equated with Nostalgia. Now, Nostalgia is a very important thing, it literally means the pain from an old wound. Nostalgia is a tinge in our heart more powerful than memories alone; and it takes us to a place where we ache to go again.I think this is one of the most profound statements I have ever heard about Nostalgia and it is a complete reflection on my time here at CU and my time in this class.

Looking deeper into the Future: 

I do not think this will be the end of my process with WordPress and Business writing. I think that I will constantly be altering and changing my personal website to align with my ever changing personality and personal brand. I believe that as I grow and mature as an individual so to will my personal brand grow and develop. My goal is to one day have a personal brand that is so strong and so well founded in all of my beliefs that I will be able to lean on it in good times and in troubling times. Writing 3040 and Beyond offered me a great experience in a non-traditional classroom setting and I am very blessed and fortunate to have had this wonderful opportunity. To my classmates and peers I wish nothing but the best of luck in continuing on in your educations and to my project teammates thank you for your passion and enthusiasm.

Thank you all and God Bless,

Robert J. Rukavina

2004 Aerial Campus Poster

One thought on “A Minute of Introspection

Leave a Reply

