Looking Forward

On this last blog post, as this half of the year comes to an end, I realize just how quickly the time flew by. Though I am excited to be done with the semester and begin my long-awaited (and much deserved) winter break, I can’t help but feel a bit uneasy– and uncertain. I realize that this feeling comes from realizing just how fast life moves. Just as this class soon came to an end, so will everything else; including, and especially…..college. Soon, grades and tests will end (unless you’re a lawyerScreen Shot 2015-12-11 at 10.19.46 PM or a doctor…you got a ways to go) and the rest of our lives will begin. It’s kind of a scary thought realizing that. But that thought is immediately met with reassurance and self-confidence realizing that this WRTG 3040 class has given us the tools for success. The job market can be an extremely stressful place for millennials like ourselves entering the workplace, but I have begun to realize how easy it can be to stand out amongst peers with a few simple user-centered design and rhetorical awareness techniques. I plan to continue to use these in all that I do throughout the business world. In addition, I hope to continue to strengthen my resume by keeping it updated at all times. I also plan to utilize my LinkedIn to its full potential, while also keeping it updated and recent. A
s I pursue internships for this upcoming summer, I hope to put my visual resume to work, and incorporate more aspects of my life as I involve myself in more activities.

The other thing that I plan to continue throughout my future is my personal website. Please take a look for yourself! When creating a personal brand, I thought about who I was as a person and what I wanted others to think of me when they view the site. The background of my site is a crisp close-up of an acoustic guitar. I chose a very simplistic theme forScreen Shot 2015-12-11 at 10.18.54 PM.png my site as well. I used mainly neutral colors and some blues in order to coordinate with the orange of the guitar in the background. I am a musician and I have played the guitar for over a decade now. I hope that when others view my site, they get the sense
I that am both an analytical thinker, but also a creative one. I have a passion for art and music, but I conduct myself as a professional, and so I take my passions seriously.

As I move forward, I plan to keep updating my site because I see its value as a professional resource for the business world. Were I to make some additions/ final changes, I think that I would have added more detail and information about myself. This may come in the forms
of adding other options to the sites menu, possibly job references or a page for creative endeavors. I may experiment
with other themes that still accurately capture my personal brand. I want to add more photos to my site, and it’s possible that another theme may just be the way to go! There’s still so much I hope to accomplish with my personal brand.

Essentially, this course gave me a whole new outlook on what the business world entails and how one can achieve success in this competitive market. I developed a greater understanding and appreciation of professional writing after taking this course. I now realize that success in the business world may be a matter of using the appropriate tone and being conscious of your audience in all that you do. These are skills that I am beginning to master, and I can’t wait for what the future holds!

 

One thought on “Looking Forward

Leave a Reply

