Hello Class

Justin, Cooper and IRecognizable Me: Hello Class, my name is Jake Gonzales! The person to the far left of the photo is me, with my younger brother Justin (18) and our family’s 7 month old golden retriever puppy named Cooper. I am from Littleton, Colorado and I am currently a Junior majoring in Finance at Leeds. When I am back in Littleton, you can find me hanging out with my family and friends. There is a group of 9 guys including myself who have grown up with each other since second grade and played little league and high school sports together who I can truly call my brothers. We are always together when we are back in town and it is always a good time no matter what we are doing. I also love camping and water skiing during the summer which is something I have been doing with my family since I was born.

Where I’m at: I am living in Boulder, on the hill, on 10th and college with 4 guys and I could not ask for a better time and college experience. It’s nice especially since one of the guys I live with is one of my best friends back from Littleton. I turned 21 this past October which seems crazy to me about how fast time goes by. I just transferred to CU this year from my previous school Drexel University located in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. I went to Drexel University to live my dream of playing division 1 lacrosse which was a great experience, but I did not like the school and playing at Drexel was not all that I thought it would be. Although I left after two years, I’m happy and proud of myself that I’m able to say I reached my dreams to receive a scholarship and play division lacrosse.

I am currently unemployed, focusing on school and playing on the mens club lacrosse team here are CU which takes up a lot of my time. When I am not eating or sleeping, I’m pretty much either in class or playing lacrosse and I would not want it any other way. This summer I am hoping to get an internship either in Boulder, Denver, or Littleton area doing anything business related. I have applied for various internships so I am hoping I receive one of them in order to get my foot in the door and start making connections.

What I Want: Just as Zachary put in his post, I am taking this class cause it is required. I took business writing and communications class at Drexel so I hope what I learned in there can help me out in this class while I also learn new skills and information in this class. I want to learn what needs to be fixed and critiqued on my resume, as well as improve my writing skills. I am hoping that this class puts me in the position to become a better writer while also hoping the learn new tips that could put me in a position to beat someone out for a job down the road, or some type of big project that may require writing. I am excited to sharpen up my writing skills and get lots of practice along the way.

Where To Find Me: At this point in the semester, you can find me in the business school, at the gym, at my house, or on the lacrosse field. This spring semester is lacrosse season so I will busy with that practicing, traveling, playing games, or lifting. When I have any free time besides that, I will be hanging out with my friends on the weekends or even going back to Littleton for the day to hangout with my family and puppy. I also a weekly customer and Chipotle to get my fix since I crave it daily.

I am a huge country music fan and love to go to country concerts during the summer. From seeing Kenny Chesney, Tim McGraw, Luke Bryan, Dierks Bentley and many others, every single country concert I go to is a great experience. From the tailgates, people at the concerts, and of course good music, I can’t imagine a better time. Of course, I also love going to Red Rocks concerts since it is after all the best venue to see a concert at. I’ve always loved music and going to concerts and will be going to them for as long as I can.

9 thoughts on “Hello Class

  1. Hi Jacob, I see that we have CU Lacrosse in common, that is awesome. Maybe I will see you around when the team gets together. I am sure that you will have a great time with the team, it’s a great group of guys and Coach G is a good guy once you get past all of the running.

    1. For sure, that would be awesome. And so far it’s been fun, all the guys are great and I really like Coach G and all the other coaches. Running hasn’t been as bad as I thought it would be so far, so hopefully it stays that way.

  2. Hey Jake,
    That’s awesome you’re on the lacrosse team, as Ryan said above we both know a lot of those guys and they are all awesome. I’m sure you’ll have a great time. Hope you love going to school at Boulder as much as everyone else seems to!

  3. Lacrosse, how awesome! I’m glad you came to Boulder though, it can be hard to leave something you love, but starting new is an amazing experience. I hope you’re senior year is going well so far, and definitely take as many opportunities as you can. I’m only a junior and I can’t imagine how it will feel coming back for my final year in the fall. Scary!!

    1. I’m glad I transferred over as well, Boulder is such a great place to go to school at! Time really does fly by and it’s crazy to think that we both only have this semester and all of next year left!

  4. Nice to meet you Jake! It’s nice to see others are interested in lacrosse as well, as I played lacrosse throughout middle school and high school. I would have loved to continue playing, but it kind of has been put on the back burner with all the other things I’ve had going on. If your are into country music you should make the trip out to Wisconsin in the summer to go to Country USA! They bring in a ton of talent and its just one giant party! I also transferred here so if you have any tips on how to make the transition a little smoother let me know!

    1. Nice to meet you too! And lacrosse is a great sport, but that makes sense why you had to give it up. One of my best friends from back home actually went to it 2 summers ago I believe while he was out visiting family and had a blast! There is something similar to that here called Country Jam and it’s in Grand Junction and I’m panning on going this year with all my buddies.

Leave a Reply

