1 Rule to Bust All Millennial Stereotypes

Screen Shot 2016-01-29 at 11.44.49 AMWell, here we are: the youngest Millennials are entering the workforce. We’re 19 to 24 years old, just graduated college, or are about to graduate, and are about to be thrown into adult life that encompasses an adult job. Easy right? Not so much. Unfortunately, along this great age come not so great stereotypes about our habits in the workplace.

The first sentence of this scholarly article says it all. That we’re narcissistic, need to have our hand-held through it all, and worst of all, that we can’t communicate well and therefore cannot build professional relationships. Now, speaking as a fellow member of this generation, I get a little upset thinking that this is how potential employers judge my capabilities. I’m here to share some words of wisdom with you colleagues. We can defy these stereotypes and prove to be the best working generation out there!

Please keep in mind, I’m not a professional advice-giver. I’m just a 21 year-old, soon-to-be college grad with a Marketing degree and a couple certificates on the side. This almost-grad does luckily have a head start in the professional world with a marketing internship. So, I wish to share with you the thing that worked for me, and maybe it can work for you.

 

  1. Be confident in your work

One of the many false stereotypes of our generation is that we need to have our hand-held throughout whatever we do, and that we always need to be reassured of our good work. #2 of this article claims that finding the work world to be harder than the school world is nothing new; which I totally agree with. So my advice to you is this, be confident in everything you do. Accept that mistakes will happen and that those are in fact the best learning experiences. Ask questions when needed, but be independent in that you know your fully capable in accomplishing the task at hand. You did make it this far after all.

Specifically, in your written work, it shouldn’t be hard to write confidently. The Internet is always there to help you! Use a thesaurus, Google some writing techniques. Take me for example, the last writing class I took was Freshman year, and frankly, I’ve always disliked writing. I was never get good at it. So, when it came time for me to create a Marketing Campaign and write it up in a formal report, I started to panic. Then, I simply asked a few clarifying questions, asked for a timeline and put on my thinking cap.

The thing I found the most nerve-wracking was, “at what point is it where my questions become annoying to my boss? I don’t want her to think I need to be guided through this.” I eventually came up with a good rule of thumb that’s basically 3 steps: 1, ask the question to myself once, then again after a few minutes. (if you still don’t know an answer) 2, Google something to try to find an answer. (still nothing?) 3, if you are able, take a look at previous examples of what you’re trying to create 4, after all of those things and you still don’t know, I think it is appropriate to ask a superior for help. It goes to show that you went to many lengths to try to solve the problem, but found you need some expertise from a vet.

You are a strong, independent young person that has the knowledge, willpower and strive to make a change in the world. The reason why my only advice is to be confident is because it can really make or break a worker. You know what they say, fake it ‘till you make it. Even if you aren’t 100% confident, pretend to be. Stay humble but have pride. Be respectful and open to constructive criticism. This article wraps up nicely that everyone has something to offer, especially us Millennials to those generations above us. Be confident and bust those stereotypes.

6 thoughts on “1 Rule to Bust All Millennial Stereotypes

  1. Julia,

    I really like the piece about being confident in our work, and to not be afraid of the older generations view on us. I liked it so much i read the article that you left in the section about it. I like that you mentioned how we just need to prove ourselves to the baby boomers and change their view on us because before you know it were gonna be the generation who is making the decisions in this country, and be the future of innovation and a different way of thinking.

  2. Julia – i think that being confident is a huge ego boost and will only help us. This is what I liked about you piece! I find us as millennials to be cowardish and scared to showcase our work or to just put it out there. The only way to learn and to be better is to fail sometimes. To fail means we must try. By being confident in our work allows us to put it out there for feedback and critiques. It may not always go how we want it, but we can learn from this and ultimately be better and earn respect by showing that we are determined to learn and try harder!

  3. Julia,

    I really like how you make the post more personable in the third paragraph stating you’re not a professional advice giver. I completely agree with you that the one thing we need to do is just be confident in our work. I’ve always been told confidence is key, and never really thought to include it in the workplace. I also really like your 3 step process, at work I often find myself unwilling to ask questions because I don’t want to come off as clueless, and this is a great way to combat that!

  4. Hi Julia! I really liked how you mentioned it is important to be confident in your work. If one is confident in their work it will really show through in the quality of it as well. If you aren’t confident in your work how can your colleagues and managers be confident in it? I also agree with you when you said “accept that mistakes will happen and they are in fact the best learning experiences.” This is very true. No matter how hard one tries they will make a mistake once in awhile. It is important to understand that everyone will make mistakes, and like you said they are great learning experiences! Overall I really enjoyed your post.

  5. Julia,
    Great post! I think that we can combat the negative stereotypes associated with our generation and will just take time to demonstrate. I agree that by being confident in our work, that we will prove ourselves to the older generations. I’m not worried, and believe that it will just take time until we are professionals that we can finally prove our work ethic.

    -Aaron Berns

  6. Julia,

    Your first paragraph makes a great point. We are already facing so many challenges as we are about to enter the workforce, and then boom, older generations associate us with these stereotypes and view us differently. Your suggestion of being confident is awesome. It is so important for us to be confident in everything. This shows higher-ups that you are dedicated and confident in your work.

    James

Leave a Reply

