Reflective Thinking

Moving forward into my senior year of college, there is a lot that I must think about when I think about my personal brand. In just 3 short months, I will be looking for a full-time entry level position at a company that I have been striving to find for my entire life. Whether that happens or not, I guess we will see! I truly believe that my personal brand is exactly what I want it to be. I have my different professional experiences that have shaped me into the person that I am, but alongside that I have many other social and social experiences that give me a different perspective.personal-brand-020615-624x451 To keep that cohesive and effective as I prepare to enter the job market, I plan to remain busy and ensure that I keep the core values that I have held the past 4 years and more importantly my entire life. I think that it is important to become invested in what you do after college- especially coming from a school that gave us an education like CU did. I am confident that I can choose a company that will hold the values that I also hold, in hopes that I will be able to continue to grow and push the company to grow as well. By doing this, I hope that my personal brand will stay true but grow in ways I didn’t know. The professional world, I believe, will be able to see this as a positive outlook on who I am/could be as an employee.

As we talked about personal brand a lot this semester, I felt that mine grew tremendously because I never had the opportunity to create platforms for myself such as a personal website and a resume presentation. These mediums allowed for me to express all of my accomplishment, qualifications, and show off the person that I am if you haven’t previously meet me. My personal website can be accessed here. Screen Shot 2016-04-25 at 5.26.43 PMI think this platform really exemplifies who I am in many different aspects. When an employee looks at a resumes, I believe that it cuts out a majority of who a person is. A student should not be cut off because of their GPA and their major. I like employers and outsiders to see the many things that I am involved in and connect with me on a personal level before they are able to judge who I am. This platform does a great job of expressing who I am on that personal level! The resume presentation that we created was something different that I have never even heard of. It was such a great was to present my resume in a different way than just a piece of paper. As I said before, we are definitely constricted to what people see on that one piece of paper. Screen Shot 2016-04-25 at 5.27.57 PMBy adding pictures and my flare just in the writing, I think it could make a big difference if someone does not know me personally. My resume presentation can be accessed here.

Overall in the two platforms that we created this semester, I am very happy with that I have created. I think that if I had to change anything, it would be to add more to my website. It is pretty basic with just the requirements that we are required for the class. I think that it would be such a great way to promote my brand and allow for people to stay in touch with me along my search and introduction to the job market. As I grow older and get more real life experience in the professional world, I would like to add more to my resume presentation and make it less about being a student and more about being a professional. I think it would be something I could show people in my network to stand out from my competition. In the end, I am really pleased with what I have created as I developed both from the ground up!

Leave a Reply

