End of the Year Reflection

We are here, wrapping up the school year and again learning much about myself through my classes, I am proud to say I have made it to my senior year. This class has definitely showed my how to brand myself appropriately and professionally. People are always going to judge you no matter what form it’s in. Whether it be online, in person, word of mouth, etc. This is why it is so important to make yourself look as professional as possible. As I looked through my social media platforms, I definitely needed to do some rethinking about how I wanted to present myself to the world. Being in college, there are so many opportunities for photos to be taken our yourself, that you don’t necessarily want people to see because it doesn’t depict you in the right light. I think I value my social media much more now, and am confident when applying to jobs and internships.

As the summer is here, I have been applying to internships and jobs left and right. I actually landed both within a matter of weeks. I used what I learned in this class to navigate my resume and my cover letters in the right direction. In the future, I plan to completely rebrand myself. I want to either start a new Facebook page or delete it. I know that I want to get rid of Instagram because I use it more for fun and at my leisure than anything else. I am a pretty simple person and I want my brand to be cohesive with that. I will brand myself in a simple way in the future, with hidden wow factors here and there, so that people can still recognize the fun and outgoing personality that I have.

This is the link to my personal website. I am quite happy with the outcome with it.Screen Shot 2016-04-29 at 5.34.57 PM.png As I mentioned before, I want my brand to be simple. I think that my website really captures that about me. I plan to add more of my work that I have been doing in my other classes to Screen Shot 2016-04-29 at 5.34.33 PM.pngthis website, so feel free to check out what I have been doing! I would definitely change the photo, I don’t think I necessarily need that and maybe a different logo that really embraces me and who I am. I also am not sure if I like the style of it and will most likely change the template I used. The resume presentation was actually a lot of fun for me. I love to design things and I had a good time doing this. It was a bit time consuming and I had to really think hard about what I wanted to incorporate. I think that this turned out very well as well. I am proud of the outcome and it really speaks of myself, who I am, where I’ve been, what I want to do, and what I have been doing. It will be interesting to start using this as I look for jobs in the future.

All in all, this course was unbelievable helpful and really made my resume, my cover letters, portfolio, and of course my personal brand better. Thank you Allison for a great and thought provoking semester. I will take this information that I have learned and put it to the test in almost every aspect of my life. I have definitely rebranded myself, and I think I have such a better online presence now that I am proud of and that I would love to share with anyone who asked. All the best to everyone out there and I can’t wait to see where we all end up.

 

Peace and love,

Tateh

Leave a Reply

