Hi, I’m Heidi!

Recognizable me: Hello! My name is Heidi, and I am going to be a junior at CU Boulder this fall. I am currently in Leeds majoring in Marketing and Accounting, and minoring in the TAM program. I was unsure about attending CU Boulder, but could not possibly be happier after my first two years. It turns out that Boulder is exactly where I belong!

elephant

Where I’m at: A couple of weeks ago, I left Colorado to travel to Thailand with my older sister. Thailand was an absolutely unforgettable experience, and I will foster memories from the trip for years to come. I was out of town until about two days ago, and since then I have decided to live in Boulder for the summer, since this is where all of my friends are.

As far as work is concerned, I just recently quit my internship as a Search Marketing Intern at a travel agency to pursue my undying interest in the fashion industry. So this summer I have started to work as a Sales Associate at the Nordstrom at Flatiron Crossing. So far, I absolutely love it! It has been such a wonderful experience for me to be in retail, surrounded by people that have common interests as myself. I have high hopes that this is the right path for me and that Nordstrom will provide me with endless opportunities to learn and grow with the company.

What I want: I am honestly very eager to get to work in this class. I have heard from several of my friends that this was one of the most helpful classes they took throughout their time at CU Boulder. At this time, I am most interested in learning how to make my LinkedIn profile look superb to recruiters. I think that at most, it is decent right now, but I will be sure to pay close attention to any advice and tips from Allison and apply them to my LinkedIn.

I also think that this class will overall be very beneficial to helping me improve my professional business writing. So far, I have not taken any writing specific courses other than WRTG 1150 during my freshman year. I thought I learned a lot in the 1150 course, so I cannot wait to see what all I will learn in this upper division course with a specific focus on business writing.

Where to find me: In my free time, you will most likely find me on the rooftop tennis courts at the CU Rec Center. Ever since my earliest memories, I have always loved to play tennis whenever I can. Unfortunately, during my senior year of high school, I started to experience severe pain in my knee and shoulder. I went to visit several doctors and physical therapists, hoping that at least one of them would say something different from the rest. But the consensus was that I had injuries that would only heal with lots of time and rest from tennis.

Since I am not able to play tennis as much as I would like to nowadays, I have had the opportunity to discover another huge passion of mine – travel. I have always been passionate about traveling wherever I can, whether that be a short road trip to the Grand Canyon or a 12-hour flight to Thailand, but with more free time on my hands, I have found myself coordinating mini weekend road trips with all my friends. I think that traveling is a great way for me to learn about the world I live in and interact with people from different areas to help learn about their way of life. No matter where I have traveled, I have yet to come across someone who has a nearly identical lifestyle as myself.

I am also very active on social media, sometimes a little bit too active. I love all my Pinterest boards, because they help me stay organized and I can always count on finding something new to cook or craft. On my Instagram, you will find all the main highlights that I consider to be the most important things in my life, such as friends, family, and obviously travel.

5 thoughts on “Hi, I’m Heidi!

  1. One of my roommates last year was majoring in marketing and minoring in the TAM program. That program looks awesome but, unfortunately, I’ll have to live vicariously through you as it’s too late in the game for me to add another minor. I’m very jealous of your Thailand travels! I can only imagine how beautiful that country is.

  2. I’m so jealous how close you are to that elephant in your picture! Elephants are by far my favorite animal! It’s so cool that you travel a lot! I love to travel, but unfortunately I do not have a car, and don’t have a lot of free time or extra cash either. That’s very exciting about your job at Nordstrom. I worked in retail last summer at Adidas and I really enjoyed it! I hope you have a lot of fun this summer!

  3. Heidi,

    I am sorry to hear about what happened with tennis. The physical and mental toll it takes on players isn’t quite visible but is pretty nagging when consistently there. I hope you bounce back and become better than ever!

Leave a Reply

