Hey, I’m Gabby!

Blog post 1

Recognizable me: Hi everyone! My name is Gabriella Espinoza, but I generally go by Gabby. I just finished my sophomore year at the University of Colorado Boulder. I am working towards a double degree in Business Administration with an emphasis in Operations Management  and Psychology. Growing up I lived in 7 different places because my dad was in the Military, so naturally I love to travel (but who doesn’t)!

I’ve lived in Colorado since my sophomore year of high school. My parents currently reside in Monument, Colorado where my younger brother and sister are juniors at Palmer Ridge High School. Yes, they’re twins. My older sister is going to be a senior at Boston University. We also have two loving dogs, and a cat.

Where I’m at: Deciding to go to CU has been one of the best decisions I’ve made. I went into my freshman year undeclared in the Leeds School of Business, and now I am pursuing two degrees. I love all the people I’ve met here and the opportunities are endless! I work at the CU Book Store on campus.

I am the Human Resources/Trade lead student in the textbook department. During our busy times we hire a lot of temporary employees and I’m responsible for hiring a usually large amount of temps as well as making sure they are trained properly. I started working there in the fall and I love it! It’s definitely a great environment and a perfect job to have along with a full class schedule. Plus it’s right on campus which is super convenient.

What I want:  I’ve always had a love/hate relationship with writing, but this class seems very different. I love that we will be learning about things that can be applied to the real business world which I hope to be entering after college. I think we can all agree that writing is one of the few things we learn about in our education that is very relevant in everyday life.

I’m looking forward to refining my writing skills. I haven’t taken a writing class in a while so I want to get the most out of this class. I’ve never taken an online class or a summer class and this one is both, so I’m definitely excited. There’s a first time for everything! Right?

Where to find me: I spend most of my time at work, but when I’m not working I love hanging out with my friends. We do all kinds of things and living in Boulder a lot if our time is spent outside. The pool at our apartment just opened for summer, so it’s definitely great to sunbathe on the weekends. I am always up for a hike and the flatirons make for a beautiful backdrop to any situation.

I  love to read on my kindle when I can find the time. I am currently reading Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen for about the third time. Don’t know why but it’s one of my favorite books. My favorite show is Game of Thrones 100%, so if any of you are Thrones fans I’d love to discuss with you!

I’m very close with my family, and being only an hour and a half away I enjoy going home for the weekend every once in awhile. My babygirl jack russel of 8 years recently got glaucoma and is now blind, so I try to see her as much as possible. She is slowly getting back to her old self and is as happy as ever.

I’m always open for making new friends, and I hope to get to know a lot of you better! Working together as we tackle these next five weeks if going to be great. If any of you are in Boulder for the summer I’d love to get together to discuss this class; as well as, any other interests we may share (or not share)!

11 thoughts on “Hey, I’m Gabby!

  1. Gabby,
    Awesome to hear that there’s another Game of Thrones fan here! I took Operations Management and its a pretty awesome curriculum. I hope you find it as exciting as I did.

    1. Hey Brian! Yes, I absolutely love GoT! I started it in the beginning of March and finished season’s 1-5 in time for the new season which has been insane by the way. I just read your 1st post and saw that you’re Operations Management. I would definitely love to talk to you about that sometime! I just finished all of my BCOR classes this semester and am taking my first Operations class in the fall. I’m so excited to finally be getting into my emphasis!

  2. Hey Gabby,
    Its always cool hearing from other Leeds students from Colorado who are enjoying their experience in Boulder and making the most of it. Keep on enjoying the outdoors and everything else Colorado has to offer! Let’s conquer this class!

  3. Hey Gabby! It sounds like you have an awesome job at the book store and a great resume builder! I worked as a temporary employee at the book store during the fall of freshman year, and everyone was so nice there. I’ll also be living in Boulder this summer and would love to meet up!

  4. Hi Gabby! I’ve read Water For Elephants once before and I was so obsessed with it afterwards. I became even more obsessed with it once Robert Pattinson portrayed Jacob in the movie. I seriously considered being in the circus for a hot second because of him. I get what you mean when you say you have no idea why it’s your favorite book. I’ve read Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut a fair few times and I have no idea why I love it so much.

    1. Yes, that’s awesome! I’ve only seen the movie once, but I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve read the book. I used to try and figure out why it’s my favorite, but now I’ve just excepted it. Who cares why I love it.. I just do! If you ever want to discuss let me know!

  5. Gabby,

    What’s up! Pool party this summer? Haha. I will be in Boulder this summer also, let’s go on a hike. I’ve only been up the all famous Flatirons but looking to check out a couple of more trails. Where have you been that you’ve enjoyed?

    Good meeting you!

  6. Hi there Gabby! Glad to see other Thrones fans around here! The double major you have going sounds like a really awesome experience and I imagine you must keep really busy. I’m an avid reader as well and have heard great things about Water for Elephants and will definitely add it to my reading list.

  7. Hey Gabby!
    I can’t imagine doing the double major and still finding free time like you can, thats crazy! I completely agree with you about the decision of going to CU, it was by far the best thing that I ever did for myself. From the education standpoint, beautiful campus and the amazing people I could not imagine spending my college years anywhere else! What a great opportunity that we have!

Leave a Reply

