Introducing Myself

Recognizable You 

 

Hey guys, Noah here. I am 20 years old and was born and raised in Colorado. I was born in Denver and moved to Boulder County around 5. I have three siblings; two older brothers, Josh is 27 and Riley is 24, and an adopted younger sister Ahnia; who will be 15 tomorrow. For as long as I can remember, I’ve been close to sports both as a player and a fan, I played a ton of hockey and golf but like to watch every sport and I am a huge fan of LeBron James; (yes even though he took his talents to South Beach). I love the Von Miller – led Broncos and the Avalanche but the Nuggets are hard for me to respect. I love eating quality food and am very interested in sustainable natural farming. I also love being active and the outdoors are my biggest passion. I love skiing, exploring, camping, fishing, mountain biking, and four-wheeling in Moab with my friends and family is what I love most.

Where I’m At

I just finished my sophomore year as a Buff, and am excited to push through these summer classes and gain some more credits. I am currently in the Leeds School and am working towards getting a degree in Finance and Accounting, and hopefully the Business of Sports Certificate. Id love to start my own business somewhere down the road and I think these will form a good foundation to help me get there. This summer, I am working for an outfit called Blue Orb Studios out of Denver, a company who does real estate development and smaller scale construction and residential projects around the metro area. I have been learning a lot about small business expenses and have mostly used Excel sheets and statistics at work.

Between work and taking 9 credits this summer, I have been busy, but try to always make time to spend with my family and friends who are in town.

What I’m Looking For

I always think there is room for improvement in writing and more importantly these days with new technology, as a communicator. I think with this class I gain not only writing skills but hopefully a greater ability to present myself in a respectable and professional manner online and on paper to future employers.

That being said, I would love to have more confidence in my resume and cover letters as I have not spent a whole lot of time on them in the past. As an incoming junior, I want to craft a resume that is as solid and inclusive as possible, and I think this class should help me to achieve that.

Where To Find Me

Obviously you can find me on Instagram (@noahvolkman), although I dont post a ton of photos of my daily/weekly endeavors, I do post some of my favorite and most memorable photos on there. I guess it gives a decent sense of what I am all about, but I have never owned my own camera and dont post often enough . Unfortunately, I don’t have the time or funds to travel the world at this time in my life, so I will have to settle exploring my home state and the rest of the beautiful Rocky Mountains. All of my family lives in Colorado, and CU proves to be very convenient for visiting and keeping everything close to home.

I recently broke my left foot and my right leg in a night time bike mishap, so I haven’t been very active lately, just staying at home in Boulder, working on BlueOrb and summer classes as well as reading about the infamous collapse of Enron and the Enron Scandal.

6 thoughts on “Introducing Myself

  1. Hello Noah!
    I am also majoring in finance in hopes that one day I can start my own business as well. I hope to be able to create an online business sometime in the near future. Good luck on and I really hope to see your business someday!

  2. Thanks Laura! Finance seems like a very practical and viable route to take for those with hopes to create and run a successful business, whatever that may be. I’m definitely excited to see what the future holds, and looking forward to the challenges and experiences.

  3. Hi Noah! How do you feel about the Rockies? Personally, I was born and bred a STL Cardinals fan so I can’t even cheer for the Rockies without being shunned. After my sophomore year I too took a bunch of summer classes. It’s a nice way to get ahead/catch up!

    1. I have mixed feelings about the Rockies. I think they have a good team, except they don’t have very good pitching, and without that, its hard for a baseball team to be any good. I like watching them still and think they have potential to be great, although being owned by the Monfort family has proven to be tough having one of the lowest payrolls in the MLB

  4. Hey Noah! I am a huge fan of sports especially football. Congratulations on your summer job I think that will be a great way to gain knowledge and experience. I hope you have a quick and fast recovery and that it wont hold you back too long for you to enjoy the outdoors and summer!

  5. Noah,

    Sorry to hear about the Nuggets. Im sure they’ll get better sooner or later(right?) The Business of Sports Certificate is supposed to be a really awesome experience so I hope you enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

