Perri Here!

 11350760_10207774293458634_7360382639498567495_n

Recognizable Me:  Hey everyone!  My name is Perri and I am going into my senior year at the University of Colorado Boulder.  I will be graduating with a Business Administration degree with an emphasis in Finance and Accounting.  Born and raised in New York, I’m an east coaster at heart but have fallen in love with Boulder.  I am a Buff through and through especially since I play lacrosse on the division 1 team at school.  SKO BUFFS!

Where I’m At:  Currently I am sitting in my kitchen in Long Island preparing for my summer internship in Boston. Beginning June 6th to July 30th, I will be working for DDJ Capital, a small investment firm right outside of Boston in Waltham.  I will be reporting to the Director of Compliance and Director of Accounting, it will be more accounting but in a finance setting.  The career path that I want to go down is unclear but hopefully being at a smaller firm will steer me in the right direction.  However I am excited to take on a new city, gain experience, and learn a lot at this internship.

What I want:  I am a very outgoing and a funny person.  Sometimes it’s hard for me to present myself and my personality in a professional manner.  From this class I want to enhance my communication skills and how to be professional in a business manner.  I want to be able to hand my resume or cover letter to someone and not only be proud of it but give a lasting impression.

I have always been more of a numbers person which is what drew me to accounting and finance.  Writing hasn’t been my strongest attribute so I am looking forward to enhancing my skills in this area.   My goal for taking this class is to be an articulate writer in the field of business.

Where to find me:  You can find me out and about.  Either at a friends house just hanging or out on Main Street, I love spending time with my friends and family.  Family is really important to me and I am super close to them.  My sister is 26, my brother is 24 so I am the baby in the family but love all the perks it has.

I am a city girl so exploring big, exciting cities is something I really enjoy.  Just looking up at a skyline or walking around blocks and avenues seeing all the different people could entertain me for days.  Manhatten is where I definately see myself after college, though Denver is moving up and up on that list.

Being active is a big part of my life as well.  I grew up playing sports my entire life and lacrosse is still a huge part of my life today.  In my spare time though I’ll pick up a tennis racket or put on bike shoes and cycle.  Watching sports is great too, huge Giants and Mets fan, Go New York!

I look forward to reading everyones posts and “meeting” you all!

2 thoughts on “Perri Here!

  1. I’m so jealous of your siblings! I always wanted siblings that were older than me. I’m the oldest and my little sister has Down Syndrome so it’s a pretty different sibling situation. Not bad! I love her to death, but I always wished I had a brother or sister to tell me what to do with myself and lead the way. Glad to meet you, Perri.

  2. That is very exciting to hear about your internship! I personally don’t like accounting or finance because it didn’t click with me, but I wish it did. My older sister goes to Boston University and is about to be a senior there. She lived there last summer and it staying there this summer as well. She absolutely loves it! It’s a really great city, and I hope you enjoy it. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

