Blog 4: SportsCenter Application

The App        

As a regular viewer of sports including, but not limited to basketball, M.M.A., and football, it’s imperative for me to have a site that I can use that will organize all the information I want to know about various athletic events. That site is the SportsCenter application, made by the company that delivers 54% of all consumption of sports news and information in this country Clearly have figured out the best way to communicate information if they are the leaders in reporting. 

                                                                               espn-logo-wordmark          Organization

This application is a great example of user-centered design and makes it very simple for its users to navigate to the information they need. One of the main components of a successfully implemented user-centered design is knowing what information readers expect to get. In the app, there are multiple ways one can direct one’s self to find what one is looking for. The app has five icons at the bottom: one is the home page, with scores and news pertaining to recent sporting events, one is the favorite page, which allows the user to filter the news they receive that only pertains to their favorite sports and teams, one is the sports page, which allows the user to pick which sport they want to read about, one is for ESPN radio, and one is for WatchESPN which has highlights and live events being broadcasted.

Information Design

The information design of the application is as good as it gets. It’s very easy to understand, because the format of the application is very similar to the format of social media apps like Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram, where navigation is at the bottom, and there are a search and setting icons at the top. Using a similar format as other popular apps makes the interface easier to learn for the user, makes the experience more enjoyable, and ensures that they will continually use the app. It’s very easy to search for either general or specific information thanks to the categories on the page. 

The only advertisements in the app take up a very small space between the blocks of information that are reported on the page. There is no unnecessary information presented on most of the pages, everything is pertaining to what the user wants to see.

Potential and Shadow Audiences

The users of this application are a large audience with both varying and similar interests. People come to this application for a variety of reasons, so the audience consists of people looking for scheduled start times of events, looking for statistics and highlights, and people who are just trying to be as updated as possible in the world of sports. Since the app is made for anyone who wants to know anything about what’s going on in the world of sports, it’s hard to think that there are unintended audiences for the content of this app.

Sentence Design

In terms of sentence design, there really isn’t a whole lot in the app, unless the user goes into a specific article, because most of the text is headlines. Most of the titles of the articles and news updates are very easy to comprehend because the use an approach similar to the BLUF methodology. Some examples of this are “Brock Lesnar returns”, and “Johnny Manziel Sued.”

Reporting

When it comes to publishing the reports, there is often ways to make a title more interesting so that readers are more likely to click. According to Nazvi Careem, the best way to write a sports report  involves several steps, but one of the most important is to just give the reader the information they want in the headline and phrasing it to maximize interest. Even though the headline is where the most general information lies, it can be considered the most crucial because it has a significant impact on who will read the article. 

5 thoughts on “Blog 4: SportsCenter Application

  1. DaDaDa…Da Da Da

    I watch ESPN pretty much everyday on TV. SportsCenter keeps me up to date with all the happenings in the sports world. I love the Top 10 segment at the end of the show!

    I have never really used the SportsCenter app though. It seems like they do a good job of organization to make it easy for viewers to see what they want to see.

    Might have to check out the app now.

  2. I think I can speak for most people when I say that ESPN is the go to source for sports news for a lot of people. I definitely love the function where people can choose specifically which news they get depending on what sports or sports teams they are interested in.

    The only criticism I have for SportsCenter is the insider subscription feature where some articles are only available once you pay a monthly fee. To me, it seems unnecessarily exclusive for most people.

    Are there other sports news outlets you would reccomend?

  3. I am not a huge fan of sports, but it’s nice to know that there is an app available that can give me quick information when needed. I’m very familiar with the Facebook and Instagram app so I’m glad that this app is similarly designed. I like that it gives you headlines about specific events so that I don’t have to read a whole page before finding out how the game ended. Hopefully using this app while heighten my knowledge of the sports world!

  4. I love the sports center app! I use it all the time, especially when I’m on the go. It is where I go for all of my sports news and I love how easy the app is to navigate. I am always checking scores and looking up stats and the ease at which you can click through the information is amazing.

  5. I could not agree more. I use this app all day long everyday, I love how it sends me notifications on things that I care about specifically. I love the audio sounds it makes as well. ESPN really has done a great job with organization and making things easy for the user.

Leave a Reply

