Reflection

arrow-619309_960_720During the first few days I was very nervous that the course load for this class would be overwhelming. Since I had never taken an online class before, and this class would be completed in such a short time I wasn’t sure how it would turn out. Going forward I made sure to keep an open mind, and I did my best to plan ahead and stay on top of the work. Needless to say, these past 5 weeks flew by and it was a pretty harmless too. I’ve learned a lot during this class about how to effectively prepare for the professional world, and unlike most classes, I feel like I will be able to take the things I learned in Writing 3040, and apply them to the real world.

The personal branding unit was very helpful in learning how important it is to be aware of your online presence, and even molding it so you are portrayed the way you want to be. My mom always warned me of the dangers of what potential employers might think about something you have posted, so I’ve always been careful and not gone crazy with social media. However, this class took that one step further in discussing the ways it is important to create a personal brand and ensure that it is cohesive across all aspects of your life online and in person. This way you have a little more control in how you are perceived by others.

CaptureEven though this class is over, I want to continue to grow my personal brand in the future, and seek out more opportunities to build my resume, and LinkedIn. I want to portray myself as someone who likes to have fun, but also knows when it’s time to be serious. I would also like to continue to improve my website and add to it as I have more experience and content to add that is relevant to my field. This will allow me to be more transparent, and hopefully going forward make me more marketable to potential employers.

It was interesting how this class was so centered around each person’s individual brand, as well as an organizational brand. As a business major building a strong, cohesive brand is very important. I enjoyed writing the blog posts because it’s not very often writing assignments are as personal as they were in this class. I feel as though the blog posts made me think about what I wanted the audience to get out of them, which was a big part of the personal branding unit. I would probably say the blog posts were where I excelled in this class because they allowed me to express myself in a more casual writing setting. I thought the blog posts were a good opening assignment for the class because they set the tone for the remaining weeks. They were also a good way to get to know our classmates since we wouldn’t actually be able to in a physical class. I also enjoyed the personal branding unit, and I was able to learn a lot. I have never had to write a cover letter before, and I am glad the first time I had to write one was for this class, rather than for an actual job application. I learned a lot about how to write an effective cover letter as well as effectively polish my resume. Though a group project is a little more difficult to achieve for an online class, it was a good experience to create a brand as a team. Working together to align how we wanted our website to be perceived will be very useful knowledge to have for future classes and jobs.

Overall, I really enjoyed this class and getting to know all of you! Maybe I’ll see you around the business school or have some classes together. I hope you all have a great rest of your summer and good luck in all you do!

Leave a Reply

