Introduce Yourself: Nina Potter

Screen Shot 2016-07-03 at 3.53.01 PMRecognizable me: Hello everyone! My name is Nina Potter, I am twenty years old and I am from New Canaan Connecticut. This is a picture of me that was taken last September on bid day at my sorority house. Needless to say, I do not always have glitter on my face, or my hair curled for that matter. I am normally wearing a giant T-shirt and an old pair of vans, but I do also enjoy getting dressed up when I go out with my friends.

Where I’m at: After finishing up Maymester in Boulder, I moved back home for the summer. I am currently living in Connecticut with my mom and brother, and I travel to New York to visit my dad and three sisters whenever I have the time.

Next year I am going to be a Junior at University of Colorado Boulder. I recently switched into the CMCI school and changed my major from psychology to pursue a degree in communication, which is something that I am very excited about. This summer I am working full time at a clothing store called “LF” where I help style clients for different events.

What I want: I have always enjoyed writing and after completing WRTG 1150, I realized how many different types of writing styles there are. I am interested in grasping an understanding of a professional tone in writing. I want to be able to feel confident in writing when addressing people in a professional setting. I think that that is an extremely important skill that I can benefit from once I enter the job market.

Because I just recently became a communication major, I also hope that this class will help me become well adjusted to group work. In psychology, everything was very much independent. I think that this course will help me become confident in my abilities to successfully work with a group.

Where to find me: As I mentioned previously, I am currently working full time,Screen Shot 2016-07-03 at 5.21.51 PM however when I get a day off I can be found doing a range of things. I love being outside, so I can most likely be found walking my three dogs (which is not easy to do at the same time). I have one bulldog named Maple, and two jack russell dachshunds named Finn and Willa who take up a lot of my free time.

My friends and I go to the movies more often than I would like to admit. Over the summer it is fair to say that we will see just about every movie that comes out. Recently, my friends and I went to see “The Shallows” starring Blake Lively. I was so excited to see this because I love shark movies and anything with a lot of action, but sadly it turned out to be a bit of a let down.

No matter where I am, there will most likely be music involved. I don’t think it would be far fetched to say that I am listening to music from the moment I wake up to when I fall asleep. I love all kinds of music from country to rap. I recently discovered a group called “Bahari” that I have been listening to a lot lately. Bahari is a band made up of three girls who make very soulful music, which you can also tell from their instagram.

I also love being creative and spend a portion of my free time drawing. I’ve been looking into art classes around Boulder for next year, so hopefully that is something that I will be able to expand on in the future. Because I like to be creative I also am an ambassador for a lifestyle and fashion company called Bond Twenty, meaning I do a lot of promotions for them through different social media outlets!

6 thoughts on “Introduce Yourself: Nina Potter

  1. Hey Nina –
    I love shark movies and Blake Lively’s hair gives me life, so I’m sad that The Shallows was a little disappointing. I love Bahari! I’m so glad you mentioned them, because I totally missed their new EP, which I am playing now, but Wild Ones has been on all my mixes for months. Glad you’re here.
    – A

  2. Hi Nina,

    Good for you for making the switch from Psych to Communications. I have so many friends who stuck out all 4 years with majors they weren’t passionate about and ended up lost when they graduated. Have you ever listened to Johnny Rain? He’s my new favorite artist at the moment after stumbling upon him on Spotify. I’m glad to see I’m not the only one to mention my dog(s). I swear I’m almost always walking her when I have free time!

    -Sammy

  3. Hi Nina,

    I also have an addiction to paying $12 dollars to see a movie in a movie theater instead of waiting a little while and getting it from Redbox for a $1. I am glad that you mentioned that The Shallows was a let down because now I can save my money for Finding Dory, which everyone is saying is great! I recently just saw The Conjuring 2 and would only advise seeing this movie if you really like scary movies. I love scary movies and usually never get scared, but this one got to me!

    Carly

  4. Hi Nina!

    That’s cool you like to draw in your free time. I have always found it fun to produce visual creations but through graphic design. Have you ever taken or thought about taking any drawing classes? I have found it been a nice change of pace beyond the critical thinking of most courses. They also helped me expand my skills which is always a plus.

    -Drew

  5. Hey Nina!
    I was actually just in Connecticut last week for the first time! It was so beautiful and full of green. That’s awesome that you work at LF, I love LF! I also am guilty of most likely to be found wearing a over sized T-shirt. I love going to the movies but since I work nights I barely ever get to go. Thats great that you love to draw! Thats a fun way to let your creativity flow!

    -Gina

  6. Nina,
    I must say you have the best name ever! Welcome to the club. I similarly changed my major from a heavy science course to more of a humanities one. I hope that you are enjoying the CMCI school, I have had a lot of friends transfer it to it and have heard good things. I’m actually traveling to New York, one of my favorite cities, this Wednesday for a long weekend trip. Any suggestions on where to go? Would love a locals opinion.
    -Nina Rice

Leave a Reply

