Refresh

It was just after the beginning of my second year of college and lacrosse off-season training was getting into full swing. I had played lacrosse ever since moving to Virginia in the sixth grade and started playing year round starting in eighth grade. It became who I was, how I was known, my claim to fame — if you will. Through high school I began to be downloadrecruited and decided on playing division three at a small in-state school. I played through my freshman year and began the fall of my sophomore year but something was different.

Cause: In the previous months before returning to
school, I was having the most incredible summer, my first summer of college. I was able to find a summer job and earn a steady income. I found that I enjoyed earning as it enabled me to do the things I wanted to do. I worked hard so I was able to play hard.

I had the privilege of traveling domestically and internationally, from music and art festivals to exploring Mayan ruins through the jungle and deep in the waters scuba diving off the coast of Belize. I was able to see more of the world, especially the outdoors, more than ever before. These experiences I am so grateful to have had really put what really mattered in my life into perspective by exposing me to more of the real world.

Effects: As I returned to school and lacrosse for my sophomore year something was different. I found myself not enjoying playing nearly as much as I had ever before. It took up all of my time outside of the classroom, I realized it had completely consumed me. I started to question what was I really getting out of it? Where would division three lacrosse really get me in the bigger picture? I realized I could use all the time spent on lacrosse and excel in a variety of other areas.

Decision & Pay-Off: As fall ball continued the fun was no longer in it. I decided to stop playing lacrosse the middle of the fall that year. This was a big decision for myself as lacrosse had been my life and dictated who I was for as long as I can remember. I finally was aware enough to challenge the belief that I was more than just a college lacrosse player. That I was just as capable of success in a variety of other areas. That there really was more to me than just lacrosse.

By being vulnerable and choosing a different path, the path I discovered within myself, I gained a sense of new found confidence in myself and of my knowledge. My creativity blossomed even more as I was able to further my small business and bring in more profits. My studies became more rigorous and my grades improved dramatically as I made the Dean’s list. I would make the same decision again as I was able to take control of my time more than ever before and open myself up and excel in new frontiers.

I decided I wanted more in life and was determined to obtain it. I realized my current lifestyle was not fulfilling enough. I wished to pursue studies in entrepreneurship while being in an active and conscious environment. I was on a mission that included goals in many different areas. I cannot say that I have accomplished every single one just yet, but I’ve come pretty damn close. Moving out to Boulder has allowed me to live the lifestyle I’ve dreamed of and I couldn’t be happier.

6 thoughts on “Refresh

  1. Hey Drew,
    I really admire you giving something up that was such a huge part of your life. Many people stick with something they don’t like just because they are afraid of change and the unknown (myself included). But I totally agree with you when you talked about how gratifying earning an income is. Something about being about to pay for a music festival or your rent or whatever it is makes the experience seem so much better!

    Carly

  2. Hi Drew!
    I’m so glad to hear that you would make all the same decisions you’ve made, all over again. Your travels seemed like an amazing experience also! I’ve never been to Belize, but its up there on my list. Thats also really cool you got to see the Mayan ruins too, I love seeing historical architecture. I agree that traveling and seeing the world really can change a persons outlook and perspective. Congratulations on making the dean’s list! Thats a huge accomplishment.

    Jess

  3. Drew,

    First off, congratulations, it’s never easy to make a huge decision like that. I’m so happy that you haven’t regretted it for a minutes and haven’t looked back. Also I definitely understand the joys of earning your own money. Nothing beats the feeling of being able to reward yourself after a long work week with the money you’ve made!

    -Sammy

  4. Hey Drew,
    So glad that you were happy with you decision! It’s always a good feeling when you take a risk and it ends up being for the best. Its awesome that you were able to recognize that your life wasn’t going in the direction you wanted it to go in, so you decided to do something to improve it. I think it’s awesome that you set a goal for yourself that you were determined to accomplish and you did!

    -Gina

  5. Drew,
    I really enjoyed reading this post and I was able to connect to it in several ways. I know how it feels to become tired of a sport. It is great to hear that you were able to be honest with yourself and honest with what you wanted out of your college experience. This is a very vulnerable feeling and it sounds like it has paid off thus far. It is awesome you are spending time with music and art, and I hope you still find time to play some lacrosse recreationally. My best friend still pays and it is one of my favorite sports to watch. Cheers!

    -Kyle

  6. Drew,
    I understand your realization after coming back from summer in your sophomore year. I enjoy traveling often and to new places as well. That is part of the reason I chose to come to CU, to see a new part of America I hadn’t explored much before. Even sometimes in Boulder I wish I could get up and travel somewhere new, and hope to do so after graduation. Traveling and new experiences can really help put your life in perspective and help you discover new interests!
    -Nina

Leave a Reply

