AdAge

Media is constantly developing and it’s important to stay up-to date in order to make relevant connections in the advertising world and fuel your performance in the work place. As an advertising student, I have been introduced to various informative websites that offer the latest new in advertising news. My favorite out of all the websites I have used is called AdAge. The website has a different section for each type of Advertising including digital, media, marketing, agencies, campaigns, and data. By having separate sections it makes it easier for the user to navigate through the website if they have a particular area that they want to focus on.

The website also offers separate links in which the user can browse through a Lookbook, Datacenter, job search site, and a link to resources.  The actual content of the website is short and an easy read but still informative. The audience that AdAge is trying to reach is millennials that are involved or interested in the world of Advertising. The AdAge seamlessly connects people aspiring to work in this particular area of study with incredibly relevant content that allows them to further propel their careers and interests.

It’s Purpose: The website is a great way for people to stay connected and up to date with the industries latest creative moves and marketing trends. Although it is not required to visit the site, you can also become a member of AdAge, which allows you to receive the latest marketing, advertisingScreen Shot 2016-07-11 at 7.53.17 PM.png, and media news, plus member benefits such as exclusive events, webcasts, case studies, trend reports and much more. This feature is specifically for large companies that need to be able to have access to the best-in-class information whenever it is needed. I started using this website for educational purposes at first, but then began leisurely reading the articles and attached links.

The articles are interesting and extremely current with the most popular stories and social media trends. This website has helped me use what I’ve learned in my classes and connect it to real world situations.  AdAge is able to appeal to millennials because they offer the best of both worlds when it comes to international issues and Internet crazes. The spectrum varies from headlines reading “Pokémon Go Goes Viral With No Big Marketing Blitz” to “Clinton’s Email List Appears to Double, Suggesting Infusion From DNC and Obama”. In this sense, the website serves as a news source.

The Layout: The way the website is set up is extremely user friendly. Each article contains a photo and a headline that directs you straight to the article upon clicking on it. As stated before, the articles offer a lot of information while still maintaining a short and concise tone. The site offers resources that are available for access at any time, including various academic resources as well as potential job opportunities.

There are ads strategically placed on the sides of the site that pertain to various media channels. There are even some ads placed randomly throughout the website to promote the sites membership programs. The website contains various links to their social media outlets including Facebook, Twitter, and Tumblr.

The Benefits: AdAge empowers those in the Advertising agency better than any of the other websites I’ve come across since I became an Advertising student. I ultimately believe that this website will help steer me in the direction towards my future career. It has not only made learning more enjoyable for me but it has also taught me how to be more professional. In the increasingly competitive advertising job market, it is essential that one is able to find somewhere that streamlines everything necessary to become employed after college.

6 thoughts on “AdAge

  1. Gina,

    That’s great you have been able to find a reliable and extensive website related to your studies. I can see how AdAge can be a great resource to you with its job search function and multitude of information. I can also appreciate the categories you mentioned for smooth and speedy navigation. I know how frustrating it can be trying to drill down looking for specific info and having it take forever.

    -Drew

  2. Hi Gina!
    AdAge sounds like a great resource! Last semester I actually took APRD (which i’m sure you’ve taken) and I was hooked. I am obsessed with the behind the scenes and creative aspects of advertising. After checking out this website and reading what you had to say about it i’m sure its incredibly helpful.
    -Nina

  3. Hi Gina!
    I admire you for spending your time online browsing through productive websites (unlike me spending a ghastly amount of time on Pinterest). It looks like this website is an awesome resource too. It can combine real life events with the practical implications on advertising. It also helps that they can connect their readers who are looking for jobs with those that are offering jobs.

    Molly

  4. Hi Gina!
    I was unfamiliar with AdAge until I read this post. I was immediately looking forward to visiting a very usable and practical website and I was not let down. I appreciate your analysis of the site and think that you are spot on with your benefits of the site. Thanks for the suggestion!

    -Kyle

  5. Hi Gina!
    I’m a marketing major, so I’m surprised I had never heard of this site before! I look forward to using this site on a more regular basis, I’m sure it will be very helpful with school! Thanks for sharing!
    -Ally

  6. Hi Gina,

    This post is great. The prompt was to find an informational source that really applies to you, and your informational resource applies to your major. I like that it allows you stay up on current events that are relevant to you, and will hopefully come useful when you are interviewing for advertising jobs after graduation. Great blog post great share!

    Jonay

Leave a Reply

