My Favorite Kind of Procrastination

High-Key Obsession: FullSizeRender 13
I love any class that allows me to excuse procrastination as research for an assignment. And with that, I introduce The Everygirl: the blog that delayed my writing of this post for one hour and 43 minutes. But again, entirely excusable because it’s research. In fact, here’s a rather ironic photo of me doing “research” at 1:30am during finals last semester (note the canvas urging me to get at least a wink of please).

Everygirl for Every Girl:
Through every career path change and 3am Pinterest binge, The Everygirl has been there for me through thick and thin. They attract young adult, female readers in careers across the board. Articles covering everything from the women working in the First Lady’s Social Office to a 30-year old woman who started her very own online furniture company. From advice on rustic dinner table styling to fiscal planning for retirement. Founders of The Everygirl know that women these days want to wear all the hats: successful career woman, world traveler, hostess with the most-ess. And thus, The Everygirl was founded with the following manifesto:

“Whether she is searching for her dream job or a new city to call home;
is saving up for a down payment or a trip to Europe;
is learning to cook or speak another language,
she wants a little guidance. She wants to be inspired.

She is The Everygirl.

This is for her.”

Everygirl for Short Attention Spans:
This generation of our’s is great. We’re innovative and passionate and can somehow take the world by storm while running on three hours of sleep. Unfortunately with the instant gratification we’ve grown to enjoy, it’s quite a bit easier to lose interest. Exactly why writers, such as those at The Everygirl, need to grab attention and keep attention.
The Everygirl know their audience being primarily women aged late teens to mid-30s. It’s an audience that qualifies as those with short attention spans and tight schedules while they do anything to get ahead. They’ve streamlined their overall design with categories and subcategories of articles (so you can find exactly what you’re looking for in seconds), direct links to save articles to Pinterest (one of the most used social networks for female millennials), and quite frankly a beautiful design made by plenty of white space and gorgeous images.

Everygirl for the Specific Girl:
The writing itself is designed for specific audiences. Considering the blog is admired by various girls, they’ve done an extraordinary job at writing each article with the specific reader in mind. Girls that go to articles on careers find a significant more written detail with spirited blurbs geared to inspire and motivate the targeted audience. Girls that are looking for financial advice find articles that use layman’s terms to describe complicated financial planning concepts and feasible solutions to someone who may be fresh into the business world. And a girl who is looking for inspiration for interior design or a cheap weekend getaway finds the details they need in the images with limited written word that may draw from the article’s main goal.
Everygirl is writing for the expectations of so many different women. While their audience may initially seem tightly defined, their resources are accessible and desired by such a diverse group of women. Thus each major category has one specifically assigned editor whose focus is to dress each article to suit the woman it attracts. Yet while there is this expansiveness to topics that their articles cover, readers are referred to as “Everygirls” as are the successful and women they profile. Above all, they aim to create an inclusive community of women that inspire and motive each other to aim for the stars, no matter how far away they may feel.

 

PS: they have a great short piece on cover letter writing which may come in hand for the portfolio assignment so feel free to check that out.

8 thoughts on “My Favorite Kind of Procrastination

  1. Molly,

    I really like that within your blog you speak with your voice. I can almost hear what your voice sounds like. Your voice all though out your blog post, and you relate to your audience. You help engage the audience by reflecting in a professional manner, but at the same time carrying the way you would speak by including anecdotes about your life. Thanks for the read. I have never checked out the website, but I am definitely going to check it out after reading this piece.

  2. Molly,

    I found it so interesting when I went on to the Everygirl website how similar it looked to the site Jesse talked about called Betches. The layout and color scheme, even the font was almost identical; the only difference it seemed were the names of the articles. They definitely seemed a little more mature and relevant to a working woman in her 20s.

    -Sammy

  3. Hi Molly,
    Upon reading this I was thinking, “oh no”, not another website to distract me! But thank you for introducing this website, I am already in love with it. I like that their layout seems simple and there are specific topics to choose from. This looks like a more mature, girly Buzzfeed and its great! The first article I saw was one about 17 different tacos to make so they have me hooked!

    Carly

  4. Hi Molly!
    I really enjoyed reading this piece and I’m sure i’ll now be hooked on this website! I really like that you pointed out how this site really takes each type of “EveryGirl” into consideration. Thank you also for attaching the cover letter piece! I’ll definitely look at it for some perspective. I also really agree with how you pointed out that our generation is the “generation of short tension spans.” Any site that masters grabbing the attention of us knows what they are doing!

    -Jess

  5. Hey Molly!
    Why have I never heard of this website? I am probably going to be addicted now. I just caught myself checking it out for a couple of minutes before I realized that I was sucked in! I love the layout and the writing style. Thanks for sharing!
    -Nina

  6. Hi Molly!
    This website is so cute! I just spent the last half an hour looking at it. I love the writing style and totally understand how you spend so much time reading it. It looks like they have some really interesting articles too, I can’t wait to read more!

    -Ally

  7. Molly,

    Thanks so much for sharing this site with us! I had never heard of the Everygirl, but after your initial description I immediately opened a new tab to check it out before finishing reading your post. Like you, I loved the interface and design layout, and was quick to click through to a couple of articles, all proving to be informative and entertaining. I can’t wait to explore further. Thanks!
    -Nina

  8. Molly,

    Thanks for sharing your post. I love that your voice comes out in this post. This refers back to what we learned the first week about being authentic. I love the the informational website correlates with your writing style as well. I have never hear of the site, but I look forward to checking it out in the future.

    Jonay

Leave a Reply

