Introduce Yourself

Recognizable Me: My name is Alexa Grott, but most people call me Lexi. The picture I chose to share with the class is me hiking  St. Mary’s Glacier in Idaho Springs this past weekend. I chose this picture as hiking is one of my favorite things to do, and this particular trail is one of my new favorites. I am originally Processed with VSCO with c1 presetfrom New Hampshire, which I like to describe to people who aren’t familiar with the state, as a much smaller scale Colorado. The White Mountains of N.H. are a big tourist destination for New Englanders hoping to hike or ski/snowboard, yet they do not really compare to the Rockies which is what initially caught my eye for coming to school out here.

One thing I do miss about the East Coast when I am at school though, is the ocean. Contrary to popular belief, New Hampshire does have a few miles of coast on the Atlantic Ocean! My summers have always been spent on the beach. Whether it was buidling sand castles with my brother when I was little or paddle boarding with my friends this past summer, my love for the ocean will never go away.

Where I’m At: I spent my summer in New Hampshire as a Nanny for a two and a four year old. After a very hectic summer, I am happy to be back in Boulder. I am currently a junior in the Leeds School of Business. I am a business administration major with a double emphasis in marketing and finance. Currently I have two jobs that I commute to in Denver.

This past spring, I began interning at an international education company called EF, and they have let me continue my internship into this fall. At EF, my main responsibility is prospecting potential clients. Although this is not what I want to do as a career, working here has given me office experience as well as an idea as what it would be like to work in an international firm such as EF. My second job is a little more fun, as a nanny for my 2 month old niece.

What I want: What I hope to learn from this class is how to make my self sound less like a clueless college student and more like a business professional. Being in the business school, my professors in the past have touched upon briefly how to write a good resume or what goes into a memo, but I have never been taught in depth how to do these things other than the basics. I am hoping to take what I have learned in this class with me through out my professional career so I never have to google how to write a professional email again.

Where to find me: Like I mentioned before, I love to hike. Most weekends, if the weather permits it, you will find me on some hiking trail around Colorado. I love to take advantage of  Colorado’s amazing environment and how many beautiful sites are to be seen here. Some of my favorite places to explore are The Great Sand Dunes and Rocky Mountain National Park. I have a few different hikes planned for the next few weeks, but the one that I am most looking forward to is Maroon Bells in Aspen.

Another activity I enjoy doing during my free time is skiing. I have been skiing for just about 17 years, as I started when I was 3, controlled by a leash connected to my dad. I grew up skiing the east coast’s horribly icy conditions, so once I skied out west once I realized this was the place for me. Over the past 2 years at CU, I have gotten the Epic Local Pass so I have access to most of the mountains in the area for a set fee for any number of days that I go, which has been amazing.

 

10 thoughts on “Introduce Yourself

  1. Seems like you have a lot of different things going on! Can you see yourself becoming an full-time employee of EF after school is out, or is it just a “right here, right now” college job?

    1. Hi Megan! As of right now I don’t see myself working at EF when I graduate as it is not really in the field of work that I am interested in. It is definitely good experience but I would like to find a career in the fashion industry if possible.

  2. Alexa, you will gave to let me know how your hike in the Maroon Bells area goes! Last summer a few of my buddies and I did a 55 mile backpacking trip in the Maroon Bells area, and it was one of the best experiences of my life. It is absolutely beautiful up there.

    1. Wow 55 miles is crazy, but that sounds amazing! Buy yeah I am really looking forward to hike around there, I have heard nothing but good things about the area.

  3. Hey Lexi,

    It’s interesting that you’re combining finance and marketing. They do overlap quite a bit, but do you think you would prefer doing one over the other?

    1. Hi Jon, in some aspects they do on a more general basis as both are dealing with the business world and how it operates. But for the most part finance is a more number based idea where everything has an exact answer where as marketing is more creative and researched based. Marketing is definitely easier right now to handle in school but I think that in the long run finance will get me a better job.

  4. Hey Lexi, I think its really cool youre from the east coast I have been living on the west coast my whole life so its nice to hear from someone who is from there. You said you were a business student. What do you want to do with that?

    1. I am a marketing and finance major so I would be happy to do something with either of those areas of businesses. Ideally I would love to work in the fashion industry though!!

  5. “What I hope to learn from this class is how to make my self sound less like a clueless college student and more like a business professional.” This is awesome. I 100% want the same thing and can relate to this so well. Also, I am a huge fan of hiking!! What is your favorite hike in Boulder? Also, have you hiked any 14ers?

  6. Hey Lexi–
    I hope I won’t disappoint you, in that we’re not going to talk much about writing emails or memos. One of the biggest reasons for this is because company culture is SO different and varies from place to place. Most companies have their own ways to format memos for sure, but writing professional emails is less about emails themselves and more about professional writing in general, which gets broken down to a few core things that we’ll practice all semester:

    1. Writing clearly and concisely
    2. Formatting well
    3. And most importantly: Learning to find your “voice” so that you can communicate clearly. Too many people translate “professional” into stuffy, overwritten text. We want something that is clear, concise and easy to read.

    -A

Leave a Reply

