You Can Call Me Tut

Recognizable Me:   I am most recognizable in my usual attire of a flannel, hat, jeans, and an over-sized t-shirt.  I am traditionally the most under-dressed person at any event.  I never take things, especially myself, too seriously.  I like to have a good time, and love trying new things.  I have been referred to as a “yes-man” by my peers.

12647029_10205489579772217_9045713017231976823_n.jpgDisclaimer: I have an alter ego that will most likely make an appearance throughout the duration of this class. This person is highly ambitious, and values money just a little bit too much.  He still means well in the end, but can be aggressive in pursuing his goals.  If you ever find yourself in conversion with this Jack please feel free to tell him to “chill out”.

The picture above was taken at X Games Aspen this past February.  I am an avid snowboarder, and love the entire skiing/snowboarding community.  I have found that many of the people are just like me.  They love to have a good time, and they’re always pushing the limits.  They challenge themselves and those around them to take on something that has never been done before.  Everyone wants to be the first to hit a run or land a trick, yet they’re still stoked if someone else nails it first.  I love communities like this because it pushes everyone to be the best they can be.

Where I’m at:  I currently living in Boulder, CO on the Hill.  I have five other male roommates, so I have become a master of compromise.  Although we fight like brothers, they are my best friends, and I would not trade them for anything in the world.  It can be difficult to find us at home, as we are usually out on our newest and greatest adventure.

This summer I lived in Boulder, but a lot of my time was spent in Denver working for a company called Grant Thornton.  They are traditionally a public accounting firm that offers tax and audit services.  These practices sound a bit like watching paint dry to me (sorry accounting majors), so I joined the Business Advisory Services Team (BAS).  We worked with companies of various sizes and nature in order to improve their systems and procedures, and to provide solutions to their business needs.

What I want:  This semester I would like to improve the quality of my writing overall.  I also want to genuinely express my voice.  I often find that my writing seems rigid and stiff when I write for business purposes.  I want sound professional without sounding like every other person who works in the finance industry.

I also thinks this class will help improve my computer skills.  I have witnessed firsthand how much recent advances in technology have impacted business.  Exposing myself to new ways of communicating and learning online will be a major focus for the rest of my college career.

Where to find me: I can often be found on a rugby pitch.  For those of you who don’t know rugby is one of the fastest growing sports in the US and was recently introduced to the olympics!  I play for the team at CU.  Our team travels around the country every year competing with some of the best rugby programs in the nation.

I started playing rugby about five years ago when I realized how much cooler it was than american football.  You still get to run around and hit people, but you don’t have to wear those sweaty,  meaningless pads.  Rugby has also been a great way for me to meet knew people.  I have met some of my best friends in college through the rugby team.  My mom always said that you have to be a little bit crazy to play rugby, and I can’t say that I disagree!

 

4 thoughts on “You Can Call Me Tut

  1. So if you interned for an Accounting company, then I’m inferring that you’re a Leed’s student. However, if you’re not an Accounting major, then what do you have declared?

  2. Hi Jack,

    You’re so right about how technology has impacted business. Are there any computer skills you’re really trying to work on? I’m trying to get very good at Excel this semester and I think it’s probably a good idea to get into a little computer science or data analytics.

  3. Well hello.
    I think you’re right on about wanting to learn to write in a natural sounding way. It’s what I emphasize most. Clear, concise writing that sounds like you. That’s what we’re here to learn.

    -A

  4. Hi Jack,

    The fact that you are interested in rugby is so exciting to me. Before studying abroad in Australia I had little interest in the sport, and by the time I was leaving Sydney I was routinely attending matches! Do you find that people are as interested in it as you are when you talk about it with people? I also think it’s comical how you point out living with so many people forces you to become to the master of compromise as my sophomore year I had 7 roommates.

Leave a Reply

