Blog Post 1

Recognizable me: Hi everyone! My name is Sara Bloch. I was born in California, but when I was six years old, I moved to the beautiful Pacific Northwest where I spPICT2651ent most of my time growing up in Portland, Oregon. I went to school in San Diego for my first year of college, but transferred to CU Boulder as a sophomore where I started studying marketing at Leeds. I think one of the reasons why I love Boulder so much is because it’s very similar to where I grew up in Oregon in a lot of ways. I can always see myself living in Portland for the rest of my life! I turned 20 years old at the end of April which makes me a taurus! I have one brother who is only 15 months older than me, so we’ve always been pretty close. I also have a 13 year old pug, and although he is getting soooo old, he is still the cutest dog you’ll ever see.

Where I’m at: After spending three weeks at home after finals, I drove my car back out to Boulder to stay for the summer. It was a great experience, although I definitely missed my friends from back home and my parent’s air-conditioned house! I tried to take advantage of all of the outdoor opportunities that Boulder offered me. I spent as much time as I could exploring Colorado and made some awesome memories. One of my best memories from summer was volunteering at a music festival in Buena Vista where I got a free ticket in return for my volunteer hours. I spent a lot of time in Denver as well because my job was based there and I was able to meet a ton of really cool people.

What I Want: I think this class will be a great opportunity for me to improve in my writing skills and really get me prepared for the professional business world. In this day and age, we become so accustomed to talking in a certain way, with slang and social media, that often times we forget not only how to talk as a professional, but as a normal person. I think this class will be especially useful because we are at the age where we are about to start our careers. Voice is one of the most important aspects of the business world, and it’s even more important when trying to land your place in the business world. Strategic, professional communication is a skill that is imperative for business people. I love that this class requires us to make portfolio’s and I truly believe that after this course I will be much more prepared to graduate and begin my job search.

Where to find me: I live in Boulder, Colorado on the hill. I use social media like facebook and instagram, but I wouldn’t say that I’m very into it. If people want to talk to me, I’d rather do it in person, and I take pictures more for the memories rather than for the purpose of posting them. In my free time, I LOVE to be outside. I’m a huge skier and in the winter I try to go to the mountains as much as I can. I’m also really into music. I absolutely love going to shows and even better, to music festivals. I also just love to explore, whether it be a new restaurant or a new hike, I’m always curious to discover new things. I’m very interested in doing as much traveling as possible and hopefully will get to study abroad next semester!

 

7 thoughts on “Blog Post 1

  1. Hello Sara,
    I love the Pacific Northwest area as well! My girlfriend and I are planning to move to Bellingham or Everett in the spring of 2017. Do you spend much time in Portland anymore? I have a sister who attends Portland State University. I was considering attending the Vertex Festival but took a job opportunity in Wenatchee, WA for the summer, taking care of my little cousins. Do you like living in Boulder more than the Pacific Northwest?
    Walter

  2. Hey Sara,

    I am from San Diego, and I have a bunch of friends that go to school there. Where did you go to school in San Diego? It’s funny, I know a lot of people who have either transferred to San Diego from Boulder, or vice versa. How do you like Boulder compared to San Diego? For me, Boulder is just like San Diego, but in the mountains. Loving it here.

    -Max

  3. Hello Sara,

    I am on the same boat with you, I not good at writing and I am hoping with class help me improve my writing for my professional business career. I like doing everything in person or via phone calls, because then people can actually feel your rage and see your expressions, I don’t like texting or posting as much. What I do on most of free time is sleep and watching tv shows, I do go out but not much, I do it occasionally.

  4. Hey Sara,

    It’s nice to meet you! While I was reading your post, I couldn’t stop picturing in my head your pug! I would say that I am a definite dog lover myself. Your drive back to Boulder a few weeks ago must have been a long one! Did you do it all in one day? I agree with you on what you mentioned about your social media practices. I never post anything to those sites, but I am interested in what others are doing. Personal communication is vital to today’s business world and without those skills, it may be difficult to succeed. Anyways, good luck in your classes this semester!

    -Curran

  5. Hey Sara,

    Nice to meet you. It’s pretty cool that Oregon reminds you of Colorado.I had no idea both had similarities. I also agree that people should talk to others in person. I may use social media but I don’t want my life to revolve around it. It’s pretty cool that someone cares about talking to others in person. I am also very interested in traveling as well. I do want to explore different countries and learn about their cultures as well. Hope this semester goes well for you.

  6. Hi Sara nice to meet you! Oregon is a beautiful place and it is definitely on my list of places to visit. I have to say that my dogs are probably the cutest animals in existence (3 pups). Good luck this year and thanks for the post!

Leave a Reply

