Introduce Yourself

Recognizable Me: Hi everyone! My name is Mike Vlasity, I am 20 years old in my junior year at the University of Colorado. I was born and raised in Boulder, so naturally I grew up with that outdoor and adventurous spirit that all of us have experienced here. My childhood consisted of wandering around on the trails behind my house with friends trying to finIMG_0211.JPGd the perfect ‘secret hideout’ to build our forts that we made out of tree branches and rocks. Looking back on it, I honestly can’t believe my parents would let us (probably 9 or 10 years old at the time) wander around the mountain trails unsupervised and sometimes at night. There were a few close calls including one time when we ran into a mountain lion, but that story is for another time. Having grown up in Boulder, then having attended the University of Colorado, it is ironic that you will now rarely find me there. My adventurous spirit has expanded to exploring as many different cities and landmarks as my college budget will allow. This picture was taken at sunset on the beach in Santa Barbara, California last February. In the midst of a long Colorado winter I decided to pool all of my money into a one way ticket to Los Angeles, where I began my journey driving up the coast to San Francisco, hitting the beaches and visiting old friends along the way.

Where I’m At: In my opinion, fall is the best time to be in Boulder by far, so that’s where I’m at. I plan to do some camping outside of Estes Park while the leaves on the trees still have their color, and before the mountain weather gets too cold. Rocky Mountain National Park in early fall is the most beautiful place in the world. After the semester is over, I will be headed back out west to the California coast. I have been through too many Colorado winters and I refuse to do it anymore, so I just migrate to warmer weather for a while. In the meantime, I have a job coaching baseball to some elementary school youngsters. I was a pitcher through high school and very briefly at the college level, nothing ever came of it but I still truly enjoy the game and the fulfillment that comes with teaching it to others.

What I Want: Writing is extremely important. I am a true believer in reading as many books, articles, stories, journals, etc. because knowledge is power. I love reading about the discoveries and experiences of other people so I can later translate them into my own discoveries and experiences. It is a dream of mine to one day start and run my own business, so I look forward to learning the concepts in this class and continuing to build towards that dream. Being able to write personably and professionally is a skill that I want to develop over the course of the semester. To me, this is a class that will help me build on skills I will need to achieve that.

Where You Will Find Me: It could be anywhere, depending on the season. For now, I will be in Boulder enjoying the fall, football season, and the mountains. In November, it will be time to head up north to Michigan for deer hunting season then back home to Colorado to spend the holidays with the family. After that, you could pick out a beach in California where I am happily waiting out the winter months sitting in the sand and hopefully learning how to surf, something I am currently extremely bad at!

One thought on “Introduce Yourself

  1. Hey Mike,

    Sounds like your childhood was a lot like mine! Those days of building forts in the forests will never be forgotten. It makes me question why I ever decided to grow up! Believe it or not, but I am actually on a plane to San Francisco right now writing this reply to your post. Talk about small world. You mentioned that “knowledge is power,” a statement that deeply resonates within me as well. The feeling you get when you know that you are improving upon yourself is no doubt a great one. Good luck with your classes this semester and it was nice to meet you.

    -Curran

Leave a Reply

