Blog Post 1

Recognizable me: Hi everyone! My name is Sarah Rogers and I am a Junior here at CU! I am  from a small town just off the coast of New Hampshire. I was born in Pennsylvania, moved to Illinois when I was two years old, then to NH when I was five, and have been there ever since. I love my home, it is full of life, good food, active people, and natural beauty.This picture of me is in one of my favorite towns in NH, Portsmouth, sitting right above the docks of all the outdoor restaurants.

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

I am so fortunate to have grown up in such a beautiful place, my family and I are always exploring new beaches, hikes, and active ways to experience New Hampshire. I have three sisters of which I am the third. We are all around two years in age apart, which has helped us to be extremely close. My sisters are the most important people in the world to me, everyday they are there to inspire and motivate me to be a better version of myself.

I started off my college career at the University of Delaware, and transferred to CU as a Sophomore at the start of the fall semester last year. I feel so much more at home here at CU, there is so much impressive nature here to experience and explore, and the people I have met are similar to me, with their love of the outdoors along with  The culture in Boulder is very active and adventurous which is something I love to be immersed in.

Where I’m at: I spent this past summer at home, where I spent most of my time working. I started working at a little coffee shop inside of a surf shop right across from our local beach called Summer Sessions. You could see the ocean from the shop, and every night I closed the store I got to see the sunset over the water. I couldn’t of asked for a better summer job, the people that I worked with were truly inspiring in their positivity, passion, and work ethic. I had only surfed a few times when I was very young, but by the end of the summer my fellow coworkers had pressured me into going out with them on a morning surf session. I fell in love with the sport, despite my blatant lack of experience and skill I had the best time and continued to surf through the last week of my summer.

As much as I love home, I was anxious to get back to Boulder. I am currently a Communications major with a minor in Studio Arts. I am excited for this year because I am starting to get deeper into my major and minor, and am currently looking for internships in my area of study.

What I want: I like to think of myself as a creative and innovative individual. When I am passionate about something, it is easy for me to write about it and discuss it. However what I lack is organizational skills and formality. What I hope to gain from this class is to be able to write more eloquently and professionally, as well as navigate and take advantage of professional  and career focused websites and technologies.

Where you’ll find me: As I’ve mentioned, I love to be active and explore. Where you will often find me once the winter weather rolls in is on the ski slopes. I’ve been skiing since before I can remember, and it is one of my absolute favorite things to do. My sisters and I are always off roading, skiing through glades and sometimes unmarked areas through the woods. I played sports all through high school, and have really missed that aspect of my life since I have been at college. Skiing out here in Colorado is what keeps me in touch with the athlete in me. Every season I try to better myself and challenge myself when I ski, and this season I hope to improve even more. When I have free time, you can also find me sketching and doodling. I love to draw, I try to draw at least once throughout the day even if it is just drawing flowers in the corner of my notebook. Lastly, you can always find me hanging out with family and friends. Nothing makes me happier than spending quality time with quality people.

 

2 thoughts on “Blog Post 1

  1. Hey Sarah, I really like your post. I too lack some organizational skills so its nice to hear from someone who has a common goal in this class as I do. I also like how you mentioned how active you are. Im the same way. Really good post.

    1. Thank you for commenting! I think that this class will definitely benefit those who lack organizational and structural skills when it comes to writing in a more formal and business like manner. I am glad that there is someone else that has the same expectations and goals as I do for this course. Also, it seems like there are a lot of students in this class that are active and adventurous, which is always great to see!

Leave a Reply

