Blog Post 1

 

Recognizable Me:  Hello everyone!  My name is Max Parziale, and I am a fifth year senior studying finance at the Leeds School of Business.  I was born in Cleveland, OH, but my family moved to San Diego when I was eleven years old.  Since our move to San Diego I have grown to love spending most of my time at the beach, or just anywhere out in the sun with my golden retriever, Rico.  One of my biggest goals in life is to someday have my own house that is walking distance to any of my favorite surf spots.  I would also like to be able to spend a lot of time traveling the world someday.  I recently went on a backpacking trip throughout Europe with some friends, but there is still much more I want to explore.  Below, you can see a picture of myself and a couple of buddies on the first stop of our backpacking trip, LoIMG_3139.JPGndon.

Where I’m at:  I am currently in Boulder for the semester until I finish up a few classes needed to graduate.  After that, I will be driving back to San Diego to start work for a group of wealth managers at Morgan Stanley.  The group I will be working for is called The Pangaea Group, and I am very excited to be able to work closely with some of Morgan Stanley’s top producers.  Last semester I took a finance course on derivatives, which made me very interested in day trading in the stock market (now it’s more of an obsession, really).  Someday, I hope to be a successful enough derivatives trader to open up my own hedge fund.  It may be a while before that becomes a reality…

What I want:  It has been almost five years since I have taken a writing course, and I think this class will be a great opportunity to sharpen my skills.  I really want to be able to clearly articulate myself in my writing because I believe it gives oneself credibility.  Moreover, I want to instill confidence in future potential clients by not sounding illiterate.  Another important skill I want to take away from this class is the ability to present a well-supported argument.  My future job will require me to be able to present different investment opportunities to clients, and it will be important for me to be able to clearly justify my reasoning for those investments.  As an ancillary benefit, I think this class will help me with the many arguments I get into with other people.

Where to find me:  When I am in San Diego, you can find me either at the beach or taking my dog on a hike.  When I am in Boulder, you can usually find me either at the gym or hiking the Flatirons.  I love anything that has to do with physical activity because it is the best way for me to clear my mind.  While I am engaged in any sort of physical activity, I will most likely have my headphones in.  My favorite bands would have to be The Black Keys, and The Red Hot Chili Peppers.  The Black Keys always reminds me of my hometown in Cleveland, and the Chili Peppers always reminds of San Diego.  I always have a hiking playlist filled with songs from these two bands to help me relax and unwind.  I do have Instagram and Facebook, but I am not big into posting on these pages because I prefer to interact with people in person.  One of the best ways I like to get to know people is by sharing a hike, or playing one-on-one basketball.  Looking forward to a great semester!

One thought on “Blog Post 1

  1. Hi Max,

    Much like you, one of my favourite bands is the Red Hot Chilli Peppers as they are extremely successful at reminding me of home in California. It’s also interesting that you are going to work for the Pangaea Group as a family friend of mine also works for them! Beyond San Diego and Boulder, do you enjoy any other parts of the States? Also, where else did you go while on your recent backpacking trip, as I am planning one myself?

Leave a Reply

