Blog Post 1

Recognizable Me: What’s up everyone, my name is Robert John Hopp III, but you can call me RJ.  For as long as I can remember, I have always gone by my initials.  I like to think that it is a unique twist on the family name, however, the nickname most likely stuck in an effort to avoid confusion when all three of the Roberts were together (and the fact that the other easy nicknames were taken by my grandfather, Bobby, and my dad, Rob.)

I am a Colorado guy, with Michigan roots.  I was born in Edwards Colorado, and my family lived there for the first five years of my life.   When it was time for me to start elementary school, my family moved from the mountains to the Denver area.  My whole extended family is from, and currently lives in Michigan.  Although my parents moved out west, we have been able to make up for it by spending the summers back in Michigan on Mackinac Island.

IMG_2062I love all that Colorado has to offer, especially the winter when I have a chance to break out the snowboard, snowmobile, and other winter toys.  In addition to spending time in the mountains, I enjoy exploring new places.  Weather it is somewhere in driving distance, or a plane flight away, I am always eager for the next journey.  In the picture to the left, you can see my dad and I from our latest adventure across Scandinavia. During the trip, we made our way through Denmark, Sweden, and Finland over the better part of a month.  This photo was taken in the small town of Halland, about forty miles south of Gothenburg.  Oh yeah, that monster towering behind us is the Tjolohölm Slott.  If you want an even better view check this out!

Where I’m At:  If all goes as planned, I will graduate from CU Boulder in May with a major in economics, and a minor in business analytics.  In the beginning of the summer, I started working for a small tech firm in Denver called PanXchange.  PanXchange, at it’s roots, is a web-based platform in which physical commodities and futures are traded across different markets ranging from here in the United States to East Africa.   I am still currently working part time, and can proudly say that I love what I am doing.  Besides work, I spent the rest of my summer hanging out in Boulder, going to concerts, enjoying the outdoors and the amazing weather.  

What I Want:  From this class, I hope to progress my writing skills, while specifically improving on my professional voice.  I feel that having the ability to write professionally, and knowing when and how to convey my ideas in an appropriate manner is an essential skill to learn.  Furthermore, I want to learn how to write a good resume, cover letter, and other things of this nature, as it is something that I will use for the rest of my life.  

Where You’ll Find Me: In addition to traveling and snowboarding, I enjoy other activities such as surfing, fishing, sport shooting, and playing the drums.  I am a music enthusiast, and enjoy listening to basically everything besides country.  I am also a huge sports fan.  I enjoy playing or watching pretty much any sport, but most of all, I love hockey.  You can find me on campus playing hockey at the new CU rec center.  If I am not on campus, you can find me hanging out with friends on the hill, or watching my favorite team, The Red Wings, take the ice on TV.  

6 thoughts on “Blog Post 1

  1. HI RJ,
    Nice to meet you, my name is rohit. You can call me RM if you’d like though (most people call me that). I really do enjoy how you want to progress your writing skills and professional voice. I also find it cool that you had an internship at PanXchange. I had no idea we had a company like that.I also wanted to ask you what your all time favorite type of music was? I personally enjoy classic rock, along with some underground rap. Anyways, congratulations on your last year here at CU! Hope everything goes well!

    RM

    1. Hey RM, It is nice to meet you as well. It is funny you ask, I was trying to avoid going into depth about music because I find it so hard to have once concise answer. I have always found joy in music, and I love finding new songs, and artists, that I have never heard before. Because if this, I have found myself listening to a bit of everything. When I was younger, my father introduced me to classic rock. Although I still like it, I find myself listening to a lot of electronic, jam and older rap now. Best of luck throughout the semester!

  2. Hey RJ,

    I’m super excited to meet someone else who loves Michigan as much as I do. I’ve come across a lot of people in Colorado who can’t even point it out on a map. My family has had a house in South Haven for as long as I can remember. I’m not sure if your familiar with it. It’s a small town in southwestern Michigan that has a lot of tourism. it may be small, but there’s always lots of fun things to do. I love spending time their in the summer. It’s nice to get away from big cities, and just enjoy a slower pace of life for awhile.

    1. -Hey Jack,
      I am glad that you commented on this post, it is definitely good to meet new people with some Michigan pride. I find it really cool that you also grew up spending the summer in Michigan. Some of my fondest childhood memories are of fishing, boating, and hanging out on the beach. I know exactly what you’re talking about when you mention getting away from the big cities, and that is one of the things I too liked about my summers up north. I actually have heard of South Haven, however I have yet to visit. It is definitely on my list of places to see though!

  3. Hi RJ! Nice to meet you! I was super interested in your job at panXchange. Are you planning on working there full time once you graduate? I also thought it was really cool that you were able to travel to Scandinavia. I’d love to hear more about it. What was your favorite part? would you want to go back?

  4. Hey R.J.,
    I one hundred percent connect with being plopped with a nickname. I was the third Matt in my family but there aren’t many variables of that so I was raised as “Tripp.” Still not entirely sure how they got that (something about 3?) but it stuck. I too have a love for travel. If you’ve never been to East Asia, you should make that your next trip. It is an indescribable experience. What is the one place that anyone touring Scandinavia should absolutely see?

Leave a Reply

