Becoming vulnerable and how it helped me succeed.

The first time being vulnerable really helped: When I was a 15 and a freshman in high school was the first time that I truly felt vulnerable to the people and surroundings around me. It was during hockey season and I was playing with a team that consisted of kids two or three years older than me. I was one of maybe two freshman on the team so it was very uncomfortable at first. I had great friends at high school and I felt really comfortable during most hours of the day, but for those two hours at practice I had never felt more vulnerable in my life. I was outgoing in school and could talk to anyone, but when I was with my team I was shy and very inside my own shell. It was very hard to make good friends on the team and I often felt left out when the team was bonding and becoming closer. This was especially the case when we went on rips for tournaments and what not. It wasn’t until the second half of the season that I felt the strength to come out and start being more social with my teammates. I was on the verge of quitting but for some reason I decided to approach it in a different way. I started to bond with my roommate on trips and in particular I became very close with my roommate and my first true friend on the team during a trip to Vegas. After becoming close with him it was much easier to do the same with my other teammates. It was bad timing but by the end of the season we had all become very close. I can easily say that being vulnerable as a young player on the team ultimately led me to coming out of my shell and it essentially taught me how to talk to people in situations that I feel uncomfortable as well as overcoming my fears.

Discovering who we are: Being vulnerable at certain point in my youth have made me who I am today. I think being vulnerable is a huge part of becoming a better person and learning valuable life lessons. For me I think that I have figured out what kind of person I am and discovered my values and morals because of times I felt vulnerable. Vulnerability makes us feel uncomfortable and anxious, but I believe that during times like these we have to overcome such obstacle to discover who we really are.

A time I discovered who I am: In high school I was faced with a very tough situation when I was in some trouble with the law. I got an MIP in high school and was faced with a tough choice. I could either pay the fine and take the charge on my record or I could  go to a series of classes with my parents and learn more about what had happen. There was an obvious easy choice and that was to pay the fine, but in a time I felt very vulnerable, I made a hard choice and I took the classes. It wasn’t necessarily the classes that taught me something  but the choice that I made. It made me realize that when faced with something thought like that, we truly learn who we are. When we accept failure we can overcome very big obstacles and we can really find out what kind of person we are and what kind of values we have.

images.jpeg

https://www.jstor.org/stable/25677179?seq=1#page_scan_tab_contents

This is the link to an article about the transition into high school and how to ease the transition so that kids don’t mack stupid choices Like I did.

https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/the-athletes-way/201206/the-power-vulnerability

This s the link to an article about the power of vulnerability

One thought on “Becoming vulnerable and how it helped me succeed.

  1. Chase,
    This is a great post. I have had very similar experiences with vulnerability and sports teams. When I was in high school, I was the youngest player on my baseball team. I was called up from the freshman team half way through the season, and spent the rest of the season on varsity. By then, the entire team had become very close and I felt like the vulnerable, young kid on the team. But it ended up working out very well. Good thoughts.

    Tyler

Leave a Reply

