News and Entertainment

I used Reddit almost daily to view news articles, stocks, electronic developments, basically anything that my heart desires. I personally have been using Reddit for almost six years for most of my news. They supply a lot of information, some which is opinionated and some which are links to credible news websites. There may be a lot of useless  subreddits, but you can navigate your way through them easily.

What Is Reddit?

Reddit is a social media, social news aggregation, web content rating, and discussion website. Users can submit many different types of information for the world to see. To navigate to a subject you are interested in, you can use the search option on the top right side of the web page. Once you search your topic, you are able to find these things called “subreddits”, which are dedicated to a specific topic. Different subreddits have a Participatory Design, where every user is able to create their own design and submit it. Every subreddit also has a set of rules to follow as well. If these rules are broken, you may be banned from using that specific subreddit.

Subreddits

The subreddit I personally use the most is /r/worldnews. Most of the articles are submitted by other users, who try to capture the audiences attention with an interesting headline. In my experience, the posts which are rated higher, there are more civilized discussions going on. Most of the articles which are linked go to a variety of different websites (CNN, World news, New York Times, ETC.).Through my experience, most of these articles have excellent rhetorical awareness. For example, if someone clicks on the most recent post (Former Wells Fargo employees reveal they were fired after reporting fraudulent sales practices to HR and ethic hotlines), we can see by the articles title that it relates to a wide range of audiences. There are many different types of articles you can view, as they are all proofread before being posted.

User-Centered Design

Reddit is very user friendly. There are many different subreddits you can find and explore. The headings of each post are clear and visible. On the front page, they have a variety of articles which may pique your interest. They have a list of their most popular subreddits at the top of the website.It’s very easy for people to search for whatever interest they have.

The actual content of the posts/articles are also catered to a user-centered design as well. I know that some of the articles are written to grasp the readers attention, where as others are poorly written. It is a hit or miss when reading some articles, but you can always look through the comments on the post, to see how others feel about the article. Writers also are able to attach pictures to their posts, which also help draw in larger audience. In my experience, Reddit is one of the best types of sources for any type of information, whether it be DIY’s or News.

 

6 thoughts on “News and Entertainment

  1. I really liked this post! I have heard of reddit but I really don’t know a lot about it. I think its cool how diverse it is and how you can get news from all sorts of things on it. I also think its cool how its a form of social media. I think that as young adults we use social media a lot so its nice to use one that has social media as part of its core. I also think its cool how there are sub categories of reddit that can narrow what kind of news that you get. It is always nice when the sites are easy to use so I think Reddit would be a perfect site for me. Great post!

  2. I really enjoyed reading your post because I personally do not use Reddit but know many people who do and I don’t know much about it but have heard it mentioned often. I had no idea that Reddit had subcategories, I think that would be very helpful. I personally did not even know that it was a news site, and as a millennial I use the web for news very often. I do however, like to views news from multiple sites as an attempt to get somewhat unbiased opinions, or perhaps just a better idea of the truth. I think this was a great out-of-the-box website, thanks for the new site!

  3. I’m so glad you wrote this article because I have never even heard of Reddit! I definitely want to take a look into that since you claim it has a variety of interests for all users! Regarding the news subreddit, can people tamper with these articles before they post them? Making these current event articles almost non-credible.. Or are they only allowed to make the caption in order to “draw attention” to it like you mentioned?

  4. I’m a huge fan of Reddit. The fact that you can find information on literally any interest is so unique. Some of the main subreddits have lost a lot of their quality over the past couple of years, but it’s still a pretty good source for news. And if you have a niche interest all of the small subreddits are usually pretty awesome and informative. I wonder how the website will progress as more and more people join.

  5. I’m a huge fan of Reddit. The fact that you can find information on literally any interest is so unique. Some of the main subreddits have lost a lot of their quality over the past couple of years, but it’s still a pretty good source for news. And if you have a niche interest all of the small subreddits are usually pretty awesome and informative. I wonder how the website will progress as more and more people join.

  6. Reddit is great! I remember being confused at first about navigating the site, but after I created an account and my subreddits were saved things got easy. My favorite feature to the website are the suggestions given to you for other subreddits you may like. I’ve also found that most questions can be answered with a quick reddit search.

Leave a Reply

