Go to Yelp for Help

YELP: As a big “foodie”, I always try and find the most praised or secluded restaurants. I try to go to at least three different restaurants every week, since I hate cooking and love trying something different. Yelp is an awesome help to me. Not only can they give me a heads up on the restaurants near by, Yelp describes restaurants in full detail so you can find your perfect experience. Yelp conveys information by having every tab on ANY restaurant you can imagine. They every location, general price of the dishes, the quality of the food, and the quality of the service. On the right side of each page, it even tells the reader if the restaurant has a TV, accepts Apple Pay, has a patio, and much more. The best part is, it’s not one person being the critic of all of these restaurants. The reviews and evaluations all come from individuals that experienced the restaurant first hand.

HOW THEY DRAW IN THEIR TARGET: The purpose of Yelp is to guide individuals to the dining experience they’re in the mood for, regardless of the occasion. Their target audience is individuals that are comfortable with using and trusting this technology,. Also, they are open to finding new or quickly found dining experiences that fit their preference for that time period. They target audiences as young as teenagers going on a first date to a family of six trying to grab a quick bite. Yelp has also grown insanely credible. When looking up reviews on a restaurant, you can expect Yelp to be at the top of that search. That being said, I can say with certainty that restaurants are a shadow audience. They use the reviews not only to compete by seeing how the neighboring restaurant’s performance has been, but to see what people are saying about their restaurant as well. My boss checks the Rio’s Yelp reviews multiple times a week, because restaurants are stakeholders to the reviews- making owners very attentive.

HOW THEY SUCCEED: When one clicks on the Yelp link to the certain restaurant, it comes up immediately with the general price range, it’s rating out of five, and pictures of the restaurant in order to depict a “vibe” or setting that the restaurant has. This scan of information can happen in less than five seconds. Since there are so many restaurants that Yelp reviews, with a large portion of their audience in a hurry to find a bite, they keep what the audience is looking for to the point and easily accessible. If the reader is interested in a restaurant and chooses to read further, they can click to read more in order to see the full menu, more pictures, and specific descriptions about the restaurant. The pictures provided are usually by fellow users of Yelp, so the pictures aren’t glorified to make the food look more glamorous than it is. Even with the varying opinions from consumer to consumer, I can confidently say that every restaurant rings somewhat true to what it’s depicted as on Yelp. Yelp doesn’t favor or exclude comments towards certain restaurants; they let individuals express their opinions and respect honest experiences. I think that is most important to Yelp’s audience. They want the full truth! They don’t want to waste their time in a restaurant that advertises themselves in a certain light then not deliver. Yelp doesn’t only run on lshonesty, but they also run on convenience. Users are able to enable their location settings to be accessible by Yelp. With Yelp being aware of where on the map someone is, they can give an accurate distance in miles that separate that person from the restaurant searched. Yelp is as simple as letting the user take over and it turned out to be a huge success. Nothing is more credible and convenient than relatable consumers reviewing the exact factors you look for in a dining experience.

Published by

meganbuck18

Business student just trying to write some sweet papers

7 thoughts on “Go to Yelp for Help

  1. Megan,

    I use Yelp quite a bit myself. It’s a great tool to see what restaurants are around you and what the price, atmosphere, and menu are like. You can also get a general sense or whether most people had a good experience. The one problem I have with it is that a lot of the reviews are really petty and pointless. So while it’s a good resource and I use it quite often, you also have to remember to take the reviews with a grain of salt.

  2. Megan,

    As someone who uses Yelp a lot, I think your breakdown covers it well. The ability not to just have simple ratings on a page but rather get a vibe on each place of interest is important in todays day and age. The user-centered design is important within Yelp as it needs to cater to the person looking for quick information to make their decision of where to go. The way it is organized with a number of different categorical breakdowns allow for a smooth and useful selection. When I am somewhere new and don’t know what’s around it can be a quick resource to find a place I will be satisfied with.

  3. Megan,

    As a fellow foodie, I find myself using the yelp app quite a bit. I really liked your analysis of the users of yelp, “they target audiences as young as teenagers going on a first date to a family of six trying to grab a quick bite.” I think this statement really reflects on why yelp is so successful and how they have grown so quickly since being created. So many people have the need for quick, reliable restaurant reviews and yelp has truly capitalized off of this very important need. Thank you for sharing!

    – Andrew Doan

  4. Megan,

    I am obsessed with Yelp! When I lived in San Diego my freshmen year of college, a friend of mine always used it, so I decided to download it. It was the perfect app to help me find new places in a new city. San Diego is known for having amazing food, so we would spend a lot of our time trying to find cool new places. Thanks to Yelp we were able to discover so many amazing places that soon became our favorite spots.

  5. Megan,

    I do a lot of travelling for competing in triathlons, so I love using Yelp too. There are specific things I look for in pre-race meal so the restaurant descriptions (its also incredibly helpful when I can find a restaurant’s menu) as well as the reviews really help me figure out a good place to eat, regardless of what city I’m in. The “crowdsourcing” of opinions that yelp uses really helps to paint an overview of what a restaurant will be like.

  6. Hi Megan! I love Yelp! I use it every time I look for a new place to eat out in Denver or Boulder when my parents come into town! I think it’s so useful how it shows everything to price, hours, menu, website link, and pretty much any information you need when looking into restaurants. I also think it’s a great website because it has everything from places to eat, to places to shop, to places to go for education. It’s pretty much the dictionary of reviews.

  7. Hey Megan,

    Ah, Yelp. I love Yelp. I use it all of the time when deciding on a restaurant or if I simply want a good laugh from the ridiculous reviews some people leave. I never thought too deeply about how Yelp incorporates user-centered design until now, and I agree that Yelp does a great job at utilizing user-centered design successfully. Relevant information is easily accessed and is laid out in a way that is easy to read. This allows people to find a good looking restaurant quickly and easily.

Leave a Reply

