WeWoreWhat

IMG_4540-1024x682@2x.jpgThe Right One: living in Boulder, CO, it isn’t easy to find an appropriate fashion blog to follow. Boulder’s fashion is a mixture of simplicity and bohemian, two things that differ from each other greatly. After a long search, I stumbled upon a website called www.weworewhat.com. This fashion blog is run by Danielle Bernstein, a 22 year old living in New York City. Her blog interested me because not only is she the same age as me, her style is a perfect mixture of simplicity and bohemian.

Purpose of the Blog: the purpose of her blog is to maintain a diary of her outfits while educating fashion lovers on the latest trends. The stakeholders for her blog would be fashion business owners. For an example, if a reader decides to purchase a DKNY dress after seeing it on WeWoreWhat, DKNY will directly receive benefit from Bernstein’s post.

Audience: the audience is the reason behind a website. There is no point to creating a website if it does not have an audience. On top of that, successful blogs usually have an established following. Therefore, it is extremely important to keep the audience in mind when designing the the content for a website. The audience for WeWoreWhat is most likely to be young women who has a similar style as hers. Shadow readers, the unintentional audience of the blog, may include other fashion bloggers who are seeking inspiration from her posts. Fashion business marketing teams and owners may also be a part of the shadow readers for the purpose of possible partnerships.

User-centered Design: the color scheme of her website is simply black and white. The pictures of her outfits are centered, providing a clean, aesthetic look for the website. These are all excellent examples of a user-centered design. It’s important to design the website in accordance to the audience’s preference. Working in marketing for an app/website myself, I’ve noticed that there is a huge difference in user-centered design of China and the States. In China, websites are colorful and busy. In the U.S., the user-centered design is simple and direct.

Content: each post includes a title, multiple images of her wearing the product, a short description, information on where she purchased her outfits or accessories, and pictures of the specific product embedded with links. The names of each post usually describe the occasion for the outfit. For an example, one outfit is titled “From the Beach to the Streets.” The background of these photos resonate with the outfit as well. In one of her recent post titles “NYFW Weekend,” she is seen crossing the road with many photographers in the background, an obvious indication that she is attending the New York Fashion Week. The short description usually reports her reason behind wearing a specific outfit.

More Rhetorical Awareness: by posting several pictures of her in the same outfit, Bernstein demonstrates rhetorical awareness. She understands that the audience needs to see an outfit from multiple angles in order to get a better idea of the outfit. Giving credit to clothing brands, Bernstein further guides her audience, at the same time, she establishes her potential in fashion marketing. The direct links below each post makes it convenient for her audience to make the purchase.

Conclusion: this website is a great tool as a decision-maker, the information I obtain from this website keeps me updated with the latest trends in the fashion industry and helps me make decisions when purchasing clothes. I will most likely continue to visit this website and strongly recommend it to those who also enjoy reading fashion blogs. If any of you know of any fashion blogs of a similar taste, please don’t hesitate to make recommendations!

5 thoughts on “WeWoreWhat

  1. Hi Adan,
    Thank you for sharing this post, I love the blog “We Wore What” as well. They are my favorite Instagram account. I completely agree with you in that living in Boulder, sometimes it is hard to figure out what to wear. I am from the east coast and find the style out there is a lot preppier as compared to here. I love that Danielle combines east coast and west coast style, I get a lot of my inspiration from her.

  2. Hi Adan! First of all, I love that you know “We Wore What” I follow her account on Instagram and love every one of her post. I look for outfit inspiration through fashion blogs and love when I find one similar to my style. I agree with everything you’ve stated during the User Centered Design because I love simple looks. I think they’re easy and pleasing to the eye and actually draw my attention in more than something colorful.

  3. This website is very cool. The style of simplicity and straight forwardness is very welcoming. The website has a lot going on with different sizes in the photos and the descriptions run short and long- but somehow they all work together and it doesn’t look clustered at all. It is cool that she linked her Instagram, this was a good way to target the younger audiences and have an easy way to follow her on an everyday basis instead of having to go to her website to see the daily styles. I also really liked how she didn’t just tell you what was the latest fashion, she wrote a diary of how she thought of it and what she thought about it.

  4. I love We Wore What, I follow her Instagram account and read her blog. I agree that by posting several pictures on each post with different angles of her outfit help the reader get a better sense of what it would look like in person and enriches each post. The blog is a great way for people who aren’t living in fashion hubs, like the East and West Coast, to get inspiration on what is in in the fashion world.

  5. I came across this blog through pinterest a couple of years ago and I love it! Her minimalist style is very appealing. I have always been drawn to more simplistic looks with blacks and whites the most. Her use of a block style to feature her blogs elements guides viewers through the main features of her website. I think I don’t really find that appealing is her shopping page, but other than that I think she does a great job!

    Carissa

Leave a Reply

