Joe’s Jeans

I will not pretend that I am overly concerned with fashion, but neither do I follow the dated social construct of what it means to dress like a “guy” (in the sense that I actually care about how I look and not anything else that that sentence may imply although I do not judge). I suppose I would identify myself as “slightly metrosexual” which is certainly more common in popular culture today. Truthfully I believe that respecting one’s own appearance is invaluable and portrays a sense of maturity. Something that I typically wear a lot in less formal settings are jeans. Joe’s Jeans are among my favorite due to the quality, trendiness, fit, and less ostentatious design. This brings me to their website.

Ethos, Logos: Joe’s Jeans’ site looks a lot like what you would expect from a designer brand website which feels apt to the subtlety of the brand itself. One will discover that the layout is in no way overwhelming, includes plenty of white space, and displays a consistent rhythm. Typefaces aScreen Shot 2016-10-01 at 12.24.30 AM.pngnd imagery are aligned in such a way that is visualizing satisfying and navigationally straight-forward. Their homepage exhibits immediate appeal with a large, well-centered image of two people modeling recent additions to their clothing line. Model age, styling, facial expressions, seasonal appropriation and other elements of the image capture the message of their brand. The color scheme is simple and clear; black and white are dedicated to verbiage while pictures are seen either through an “old photo” type filter (tan/brown overtones) or in black and white. Contrast particularly stands out to me. Black is the choice option for their logo, which lies in the upper left-hand corner, as well as all tabs and social links. White is the color used in most wording placed on top of imagery. The two filtered styles of their photos effectively separate, section-off, and organize areas of their pages. Font appropriation is another distinct feature portraying the exact subtlety that I have mentioned already.

Specific items: In the upper-right hand corner you will find a small area of white space dedicated to promotional content. What I appreciate about this feature is its non-dominant presence that would otherwise sacrifice integrity for the sake of cheap consumer-appeals. Centering such promotions on a webpage often cheapens the brand by selling “bargain deals” more so than quality items. As somebody begins to explore Joe’s Jeans’ website, another feature that I am fond of is the picture formatting which involves dual images (front and back) that switch as you scroll over them. This creates a more dynamic and interactive experience to the consumer while establishing a simplified method of inspecting items one may or may not be interested in. I feel this is a better approach than something like a magnifying glass feature  which seems to often have trouble loading in a correct and timely manner. I might add that these images lay over light grey space which contrasts enough with the surrounding white space to be identifiable yet never distracting nor busy. Video shorts are another admirable component of some images depicting the general fit and movement (on a model) of the related item. This provides a more thorough depiction. Secondary features that may be found when one clicks on any of the products do include a magnifying option which feels more appropriate when the intent is actually to get full detail. A size chart aids consumers who may be unfamiliar with what fits suit them best. Material percentages and a “share” option are also included. Two final elements of the item details layout I would like to mention are “style with” and “similar styles” portfolios which feel useful when trying to put together complete outfits and well-rounded closets.

Content Notes: The rhetoric used in item descriptions may be a little verbose as it uses a great deal of loaded words and purposeful adjectives. It does not feel altogether unnecessary but it is obviously meant to sell you on the item itself. Projecting bias on a designer brand website seems suitable and thus passable in this setting.

5 thoughts on “Joe’s Jeans

  1. “What I appreciate about this feature is its non-dominant presence that would otherwise sacrifice integrity for the sake of cheap consumer-appeals. Centering such promotions on a webpage often cheapens the brand by selling “bargain deals” more so than quality items.” This I found to be very interesting. I have never heard that and it was cool to learn something new! The feature where you can put together an outfit and it is all very simple to navigate I like a lot when messing around with this website. It is simple but they have very good ways of making the images unique with layering the words over the image too.

  2. Hi,

    I love how much details you noticed about this website. It shows that you really took the time to study its user-centered design. Thank you for pointing out the “old photo” filter on the images. I find this detail very interesting. Clothing websites usually prefer clear, high definition images, however, it seems that special effects have become quite popular in music videos and websites lately. I agree with you that a lot of times promotion sections can downgrade the appearance of a brand. At my work, our marketing team is actually having this very dispute with the engineers who want to add ads to our home page. It was very good to hear the opinion from a fellow millennial.

    Sincerely,
    Adan

  3. Hi,
    Joe’s Jeans is one of my favorite companies to buy jeans from as well. I feel they have the best fit and quality standards out there compared to other jean brands at that level of price. I think you did a great job of going into detail describing the website and you pointed out things to me that I do not think I would have noticed on my own. So I very much appreciate that!!

  4. I’m glad you posted this. I actually have trouble finding a good pair of jeans that fit well. I might have to give these a try. As far as graphic design goes, I think that Joe’s Jeans does an excellent job in keeping a sleek, streamlined design by using a lot of open space (not crowding design elements) and keeping design elements simple. The picture you posted with you blog is a great example this.

    R/
    Cole

  5. Hi,

    I loved your post about Joe’s not only because I used to work directly with a representative from Joe’s when I worked for Nordstrom but also because it is very apparent that you took the time to dive into the customer orientation of the website. One of the most interesting things that you pointed out was the “old photo” effect that is widely used, and this directly relates to the company’s attempt to stand out in the market of luxury denim through their appeal to being the “original” and “classic” denim in the market. They set themselves apart from competitors while creating a loyal brand following by customers who appreciate this appeal.

Leave a Reply

