Reflection Blog Post

Introduction into my Semester in Writing 3040 – This semester has taught me a lot about myself. Throughout this course, specifically, I have learned to brand my writing style and myself to be authentic and consistent. I have also learned that I have the knowledge and skillset to excel in a sports marketing or digital marketing position. There is, obviously, much more room for improvement. However, I am proud of the progress I have made and excited for what comes next.

So What Does Come Next? – Today’s job market is extremely competitive and tough to find the right fit. To prepare myself for my job search process, I plan on doing a few specific things. Firstly, I am taking two elective courses in the Spring semester that will improve my skills in critical areas. One of these classes is Digital Marketing, a marketing class where I will learn the specifics of Google Adwords, online marketing and media, and other important digital skills. For more information on the value of Google Adwords, click here. The other class I am taking is Professional Selling. Here, I will learn how to become a smart and persuasive seller, which is extremely important in the marketing world.

In addition to these electives and the two other marketing requirements I will fulfill, I plan on getting a marketing internship in Boulder during the Spring. Having another marketing internship will enhance my knowledge and skillset in the areas I will need to excel. It will also enrich my resume and my personal brand to potential full time employees.

I want to continue down the digital and sports marketing path that I have started paving the way for. In addition to my Summer Internship this past year and the skills I have picked up this semester, the Spring semester will develop my personal brand even more. When it is all said and done, my goal is to get a job within this digital and sports marketing industry.

Portraying Myself in the Professional World – Acting in a professional manner and treating others with respect and gratitude is extremely important in the professional world. I continually strive to portray myself as respectful and thankful as possible. Being genuine to a potential employer is one of the most important traits if one wants to be hired. Whether it is face to face, over the phone, or over email, I have learned that it is always important to treat others as sincerely as possible. Click here to read about some of the most important professional traits.

My Personal Writing Style – I have always been a good writer and confident in my own writing. I continue to improve and learn new ways to portray my thoughts. Throughout this semester, I have learned several things about my writing style that I can take away from this class and incorporate into my everyday communication.

I have learned that brainstorming and outlining before diving into a piece of writing is more important than most people think. I have always done some sort of outline before I begin writing, including one for this reflection blog post. However, I never really thought about it, until now, how important this actually is. Brainstorming is a great way to come up with new ideas and organize your thoughts before getting too involved in a piece of writing.hired-news-art-800x450.jpg

I have also learned that I have the ability to excel in a position within an organization that involves a lot of writing. Whether it is writing branded blog posts or copy for an advertisement, I feel I have the creativity and expertise to do well in such a position.

Where I have Excelled in this Course – I like to think that I have done well in every aspect of this course, as well as my other courses. However, that is clearly never the case. Although I am confident in my own abilities, I know there is always room for improvement. Throughout this course, I feel I have excelled in further developing a personal brand for myself. It takes a long time for most people to really know what they want to do with their lives, and it has been no different for me. I do know now that I want to continue down the course I have taken and strive to be the best digital and sports marketer I can be.

Leave a Reply

