Get to Know Me!!

rv-hockey-photoHey guys, my name is Chase Tosh and today I would like to tell you a little bit about myself.  I was born and raised in Arvada, Colorado.  For those that aren’t familiar with Arvada its a suburb about 15 min south of Boulder.  I’ve lived in Colorado all my life and haven’t known much outside of that and for that reason I decided to attend CU Boulder in hopes of obtaining a degree in Mechanical Engineering.  After taking freshman engineering courses and realizing how absurdly hard they are I decided to switch majors to Economics and haven’t looked back.  Aside from school, I enjoy playing any kind of sports my favorite being ice hockey.  On the left is a picture of my parents and I from my last high school hockey game of my senior year.  I’ve played ice hockey for 17 years now and owe all my love and passion for the game to Arvada Hockey Association.   I wish I could sit here and tell you everything there is to know about me, but for now those are the basics.

Right now I’m mid way through my Junior year as an Economics major and loving every bit of it.  Boulder is an amazing school to attend and I couldn’t be happier with my decision.  Unfortunately right now I’m unemployed but I do have a GoFundMe in the works to pay for my gambling addiction.  It’s important to note that by gambling addiction I mean I regularly put money down on friendly games of Madden, 2k17, and NHL.  Needless to say I’m not very good and usually lose a fair amount of money.  As for the summer, I’m still undecided on where I want to be but an internship is my top priority.  I’d like to stay in Colorado and find a stable well paying career here but if my talents are needed elsewhere than I guess thats ok too.

To be completely honest, I can’t stand writing.  I’ve never found that sheer enjoyment authors or students get from writing numerous papers.  Writing is something that even in high school I tried to avoid at all costs.  I’m one of those math minded students that would rather sit down with 100 calculus problems than a two paged double spaced writing assignment.  With that being said I realize that writing is a much needed skill in the real world and I’m hoping through the progression of this class I can become a more proficient writer.  I chose this class in particular because of its application to the world of business and I’ve found that writing is more enjoyable when its about a topic I enjoy.

I spend a lot of my time at my apartment playing countless hours of video games with my roommates so often times that is where you can find me.  I’m also taking a fairly heavy workload this semester so the library will be a second home for me….who am I kidding I never go to the library, chances are you won’t see me there.  I’m not really much of a hiker so I can’t say I have a favorite trail, but I do enjoy the occasional walk up Chautauqua.  Since the weather has been cold and dreary I’ve actually spent a lot of time at the movie theater.  Right now Star Wars is by far my favorite movie thats come out.  It not only delivered a thorough and dense plot but the overall CGI and special effects were incredible.  For those of you who haven’t seen it yet I highly recommend although if you haven’t seen the older Star Wars movies you probably won’t get it.  I also have several “go-to” shows that I watch after a long day of school and those are The Office and How I Met Your Mother. Both terrific shows in their own way and I would also highly recommend binge watching those two shows.

So thats just a little preview as to what makes me me but I’m looking forward to connecting with you guys!  Cheers to a great semester.

2 thoughts on “Get to Know Me!!

  1. Hi Chase,
    Nice to meet you. I thought that The Force Awakens was brilliant, but Rogue One could have been cut together better. I was honestly a little disappointed after all the hype. (You can talk about Star Wars with me — I have strong opinions, be warned!)

    Glad to have you in class, even if you hate writing. Believe it or not, I hate writing papers too. It’s why we’re avoiding writing the traditional academic paper as much as possible!

    -A

  2. Love to hear that I’m not the only person who was completely overwhelmed in the Engineering school. Isn’t it weird being a semester off? I hate it!
    Glad You’re enjoying Economics
    -Schwan

Leave a Reply

