Get to know a stranger!

 

Recognizable Me:

profHello everyone! My name is Brad Kaplan and I am a senior in the Leeds School of Business graduating this upcoming May. I will be earning a double area of emphasis in operations and information management. I am originally from a small town just south of Boston Massachusetts, called Medway. I have been living in beautiful Boulder for four years now and am planning to stay in Colorado following graduation. (Job permitting!)

Although I have lived in Colorado for four years now I am still a die-hard Patriots fan at heart. I recently flew home for the AFC championship game against the Pittsburg Steelers that sent the Patriots to Super bowl 51. The picture I have chosen is of my sister and I at a patriots game two years ago. My sister is two years younger than me and attends the University of Tennessee. Despite the distance she is still one of my best friends.

Where I’m at:

After seven semesters that seemed to go by in the blink of an eye I am somehow am in my eighth and final semester here at the University of Colorado. My career here has been amazing and I really couldn’t have asked for more out of this experience (besides you know, maybe a few more semesters…) Although my ‘plan’ is to stay in Colorado after graduation I am currently looking for jobs in Boston and New York City as well. I put quotations around plan because I am the most indecisive person in the world and my career plans seem to change every few weeks.

One thing I am sure of though is that I love to travel and I want to see the world before I settle down somewhere. I currently have two upcoming trips in the books. For spring break I will be dirt biking/backpacking throughout Belize exploring their Mayan Ruins and beautiful jungles. Additionally after I graduate my best friend and I are planning another backpacking trip around Europe. I am more than excited for both and cannot wait to add some new stamps to my passport.

What I Want:

Although I am taking this course because it is required of all business majors I am definitely looking forward to polishing my professional communication skills. I hope to one day soon start a career in sales and communication is a huge part of being a salesman. I hope to learn how to communicate not only within my employing organization but also with clients. One area in particular is how to remain professional, but also come across as someone a potential client would not mind having a beer with and developing a business relationship with.

Where to find me:

If I am not at Koelbel doing work or at home watching Netflix (which most of the time I am) I am most likely up in the mountains skiing. I love to ski and have been doing it since I could walk. I am very lucky to have grown up with parents who encouraged my love of skiing and would drive me to New Hampshire every weekend in the winter to ski Loon Mountain. For all you mid-west skiers take a look at where I grew up skiing! The differences between East Coast mountains and Colorado mountains are endless and Colorado hands-down has the advantage. Skiing out here these past four years has spoiled me to the point where I almost no longer want to ski when I am back home in the east.

I love to be outside which is what drew me to Colorado in the first place. Although I haven’t done any 14ers or anything cool like that I do love to hike in the summer and one day hope to start summiting some 14ers! If anyone wants to see pictures of my upcoming trips or past adventures feel free to follow me on Instagram.

Thanks for reading and I look forward to a great semester with you guys!

One thought on “Get to know a stranger!

  1. Hi Brad,
    Sometimes being indecisive keeps you flexible for the future. I think it opens up a lot of opportunities that you might not find if your focus was narrower. Welcome to class!

    -A

Leave a Reply

