Moments that Last Forever

crossAn experience that changed me for the better was my experience at my senior retreat in High School. We went off to the mountains for the whole weekend and it was a time to clear our minds off of school, sports and whatever we had going on at the time.

We had a lot of moments where we got to know one another on a personal level. A lot of people including myself opened up on trials and tribulations we all endured throughout our lifetime. We had many exercises like hiking, group dinners, and group activities to open up and get to know one another. As you know in High School, there were many cliques and groups of individuals that would only speak to their core friends. This experience opened everyone up and no one felt vulnerable afterward because the love was reciprocated.

The Moment: The profoundly changing moment for me was when I went to confession.The moment I was going to confession I was nervous as can be and I wasn’t sure of how it was going to go. It was my first time doing it and I felt it was a perfect moment to confess my sins. The moment I felt I needed to be clean again was when I was at adoration. I remember one of my favorite teachers was telling us, what do you want to get out of this experience and he opened up on his faults and wrongs throughout his past years. It took a lot of courage to go up in front of all the faculty and students and open up the way he did. We spoke shortly after and he was telling me don’t be afraid and don’t hold back on this opportunity.It took a lot of courage out of me to do something I was really nervous and uncomfortable in doing.

The moment I left confession, was one of the best feelings ever. It was a feeling I have never felt in my life prior to that moment. It is hard to put into words but it felt like I was born again. All of the weight I had on my shoulders was instantly put behind me and from that moment I was able to move forward in life.

When thinking of a time that has truly changed you, it was very difficult given the prompt restrictions. This prompt did make me think deeper and opened my mind to think of something that changed me for the better that is worth writing about.Going into the situation, I didn’t have an open mindset; it was more so waiting for the moment until the retreat was over.

Reflecting: Getting a chance to reflect on moments like this is monumental. Life comes at you very fast and moments like this are the ones that impact your life the most (even if it doesn’t seem like it at first.) Feelings we get can come and go so quickly, even the moments that seem to define who you are. Looking back on this experience, it is a blessing that I am thankful for today. I am very grateful for the Catholic private High School education my parents worked very hard for me to go to. Moving forward, I am beyond thankful for the opportunity presented by my teacher and without him I most likely wouldn’t have the confidence to go out my comfort zone and repent.

Thankful: I also had the opportunity to grow closer with my core friends as well as the entire class. I got to see sides of other students that I don’t ever get to see (because they are not who I prefer to talk to and the workload of school and sports.) It opened my eyes on many levels and for that, I am forever grateful and blessed for that opportunity. This was by far my favorite retreat I have gone to in High School. This senior retreat brought me closer to God and made prayer easier for me to do every day. From this day moving forward, I am now comfortable going to confessions and expressing my sins to a priest because of my experience at my senior retreat.

 

Leave a Reply

