Lookin’ at Life

We met at the neighborhood pool when we were 7. And like all little kids we instantly became friends solely based off of the fact that we were both down to play pool games with each other. She was one of those kids that was, like, always trying to play with other random kids that she had never met. We went different schools our entire lives but honestly, I think that strengthened our friendship more than anything else could have. We were the perfect ‘go-to person’ for each other. An unbiased third party that would be truthful yet caring. So anyway, we continued growing up with each other through 12360139_10206599692285813_4588536634545260710_nmiddle school, high school, and into college. In high school we got to work with one another at this really yummy sushi restaurant in south Denver called John Holly’s. I was always so jealous because she didn’t have a curfew and she drove this cool silver bug. I could go on and on with high school stories, but I don’t even know where to begin. SO come college I pursued a degree at CU, Boulder and she decided upon University of Kansas. About halfway through sophomore year, her mom said that out of state tuition was just too much for her to handle sooooo Nicky would find herself in Boulder at the beginning of junior year!!!! Of course she immediately called me to fill me in on the news and of course we celebrated with one too many tequila shots. But hey… that’s just how we celebrate. Because I had already signed a lease with with some other girlfriends for junior year, I pointed Nicky to a group of girls I knew she would fit in with – aka my freshman year random roommate in Baker Hall, Kathryn. So there I was, about to begin my third year at CU and one of my best friends in the whole world would be living right across the street from me…. Again! Life was really freakin’ good.

 

Steamboat
We were supposed to look for apartments together that following Monday. We were supposed to go to Joshua Tree that summer. We were literally supposed to go to Olive Garden (lol) once she got home. My heart hurts and I don’t know if it will ever stop. The previous Friday Nicky went on a weekend getaway to Steamboat to ski and hang out at our buddy’s house. I didn’t go because… i don’t know, I guess I just didn’t want to. I was sitting on my couch watching the newest episode of the Kardashians (obviously) when I got a call from Kathryn. She said there had been an accident and the two other passengers were in the hospital but no one knew where Nicky was. I surprisingly remained pretty calm. Kardashians playing in the background, we tried to dig up any clues we could. About an hour later, I got the call. It lasted about 30 seconds. Kathryn, sobbing, “Nicky’s dead.”. Without any words, I hung up the phone.

 

How the Cookie Crumbles
I’ve learned a lot about myself since that Sunday evening. Life is the most bizarre, mind boggling, terrifying, amazing, reality. It’s that moment when you realize “this is life” when you can feel beauty. When someone tells you to “look at life” it can be ugly or  it can be beautiful depending on the lens you use. With the death of my best friend, I was stuck in a dark hole looking at life. I know what it’s like to be stuck in a hole. I also now know what it’s like to be looking from the top. Thank you, Nicole, for showing how beautiful life is from little place called Heaven. Your memory will not fade.  

Leave a Reply

