Blog Post 2 – The Faith

When I began to think about a memory in which I was personally affected to the point I thought it changed me as person, I always go back to the day I was confirmed as a Catholic.  I was a Sophomore in high school and finally completed the sacrament of baptism in the church.  Confirmation deepens our baptismal life that calls us to be witnesses of Jesus Christ in our families, neighborhoods, society, and the world.  I felt closer to my higher power while also feeling closer to my family; my mother’s family have been devoted Catholics long before coming to America from Germany.  To be confirmed in the catholic church, my studies date back to my grade school years.  It was somewhat different living in the Roaring Fork Valley and being surrounded by those of the Jewish faith and being a bit of an outsider when discussing our beliefs.  Although I was always reserved when it came to religion in discussions among peers, I always had a desire to fulfill my baptismal promise regardless of what others thought of my personal beliefs.  Throughout the process, my mother happened to help our church by leading catechism, the long process which last years.  As a young kid, I sometimes dreaded going to our schooling and dreaded some participation.  As I grew older I became more open to learning and open to God, my higher power.  Confirmation brought me a better understanding of baptismal grace and solidified me to Christ; it increased the gifts of the Holy Spirit.

I  can truly say I could feel the moment I became closer with my higher power and I had a burning feeling in my chest; whether this burning feeling was a feeling of joy or a sense of togetherness, I couldn’t tell you, but I can tell you I felt accepted into the faith.  I have always wanted to follow in my family’s path that they have paved for me and I would never have a desire to let my family down in terms of our foundation.  I feel as if my confirmation with my mother standing next to me, while my grandparents were in the front pew, holds the biggest space in my heart because I was able to see the smile on their faces.  Although this satisfaction came about because of my family members joy and gratefulness, I had satisfaction knowing I was able to look to someone greater than myself and build my morals which compounded those of my family’s preexisting ones.

 

I changed as a person because of my confirmation in many ways and I can honestly say I am a better person for it today.  I know I am brighter person to be around, I am much more open to discussion regarding religion and I feel everyone is entitled to their own opinions and has the right to believe in what they want to believe in.  I am not scared to discuss opposing views and I enjoy hearing the other sides of beliefs.  I am much more thankful for what has been done for me by my family and I will never take what we have for grated.  As a family we are centered around our faith and has been at the center of our hearts for centuries.  To continue to grow as a person with my family, neighbors, society and the world allows my to continue with my religion and to continue to be proud of who I am and how I was raised throughout my childhood.

 

Leave a Reply

