Reflections: Blog 5

The end is here!

When I started college, and for the first three years of college, I kept being told that college is the best four years of your life. You need to embrace all that it has to offer. I was told that it will fly by in the blink of an eye.  But when you are sitting in Norlin struggling to figure out which exam to study for first, or how you can possibly split your time to study for 5 exams that are all in the same week while simultaneously trying to write papers and work on group projects, it seems as if Graduation couldn’t come fast enough. I was excited to grow up and get out of the small Boulder Bubble, then suddenly senior year was upon me. I had to start facing reality that life is coming at me fast, and with it a whole bundle of responsibilities and expectations that I haven’t had to face yet. Looking back now, I wish I had the opportunity to go back and really appreciate my first three years all over again. An additional scary thought was: I haven’t taken a writing course since my first semester of college. What a great way to bookend it though, by taking one my last semester too. I have learned that writing isn’t like writing a bike, you can’t just pick it up again and expect to excel at it. It takes work, writing is like a plant, it takes time and needs to be nurtured in order for it to grow.

What now?

I was too scared to jump right into the whole career thing, so I have decided to spend this summer traveling, Southeast Asia and Europe and hopefully some volunteer work in South America as well, but I am planning on taking some key things
from this class with me around the worldUnknown.jpeg.  Through out this course I have started to understand how truly important it is to have professional writing experience, to create a personal brand and how it is important in people’s perception of me.

When examining my personal brand, I realized that my social media presence isn’t a true reflection of who I am. I have a limited presence online but in person I am a big personality to be reckoned with.  I hoping to use my travels to better understand who I am as a person and I am planning on using this knowledge of myself to better portray myself, to learn to express myself in new ways so that I will be more appealing to prospective employers, thus, making it easier for them to communicate with me.  I want to blog about my experiences, and hopefully by continuously practicing my writing I will be able to further expand upon my writing skills.

I am still trying to discover my writing style; I feel like I haven’t been able to conquer a fully professional tone quite yet. That being said, I am not fully ready to embrace being a professional quite yet either, so maybe when I work on one I’ll acquire the skills of the other. I know that I need work both as an individual and as a writer, and I know that although I am stubborn I can focus my stubbornness to be targeted towards making myself better.

This course has truly opened my eyes in ways that I can make myself better. Not only as a perception but also by building on my skills. I had expectations to develop myself. To create new skills like learning how to really take advantage of Search Engine Optimization(SEO), and how to market myself or any company, brand or product through (SEO). I learned that although it is beyond boring, and it is totally tedious, I am capable of learning basic coding, and that when you think about it, it is an important skill to have in this new tech world.

The world is a scary place, but understand who I am and what I want to stand for, will make going out into this big world a little less terrifying. Through my four years of college I have been given all of the necessary skills to succeed, now I have to put them to work and see where I end up.

Leave a Reply

