Here’s Hailey!

Recognizable me

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset
Hi everyone! My name is Hailey (the gal in the picture) and I am finishing up my junior year at the University of Colorado Boulder, studying international affairs. Honestly, that’s a super boring, non-descriptive way to introduce myself, but it’s how I’ve been doing it since I started school sixteen years ago.

I was born in Los Angeles, California, but didn’t stay long. When I was two, my family moved up the coast to Seattle, Washington (so yeah, I’m a big fan of the west coast). I grew up in Seattle (not as rainy as everyone thinks) and consider it my hometown. I made the decision to venture to Boulder, Colorado to attend CU after visiting during high school and falling in love with it (and no, not to escape the rain).

I am obsessed with animals, and have one dog named Spice, who I love to death. I love animals so much, that until I was twelve years old, I was adamant that I was going to be a veterinarian. But not just any veterinarian! I was going to be a veterinarian who, “Did not perform any surgeries, or give any shots, or see any blood.” Unfortunately, I discovered that this position does not exist, and reconsidered my career goals (but my fear of blood and needles remains).

Where I’m at

This summer I returned to Seattle and am working at Nordstrom as a sales associate, as I have the past two summers. At the end of each school year, I debate whether I should stay in Boulder for the summer or return home, and each year I have chosen the latter (summers in Seattle are amazing and much to many people’s surprise, NOT rainy). I think that one of the most valuable things that I have learned from college, has been that I really do love my home state.

Now don’t get me wrong, as I said earlier, I love Colorado and would not have wanted to go to school anywhere else (and I’m so relieved that I have another year to go). It has been an amazing experience for me to get out of my comfort zone, and go to a state where I had no family or friends. I have grown so much as a person (sounds cheesy, I know) and have learned lessons that could never be taught in a classroom, such as how to adapt to life in a new city (and how to fight a sketchy, manipulative landlord for your money back with the help of a school lawyer, but that’s a really long story). But I have discovered how grateful I am for the place I am from, and the people there.

What I want

When I was in high school, I contemplated the idea of one-day attending law school, and becoming a lawyer. I imagined completing my undergraduate degree, and going straight to law school after graduation. But with junior year coming to an end, it is clear that I was very, very wrong.

With graduation being only a short year away, I still don’t know where I see myself after my time at CU comes to end. But what I do know, is that in any future career I might have, I want to have strong professional writing skills. I hope to take my academic writing skills, and evolve them into more practical, professional writing skills. As important as academic writing has been up to this point in my academic career, there is no denying that professional writing will be an extremely important skill to have in the next phase of my life.

Where to find me

anne-preble-202278If you want to find me this summer, your best bet would be to check the lakes, hiking trails, or the gym. I love being active and staying physically fit. In the Pacific Northwest, we are fortunate to have many bodies of water, mountains, jungles and volcanoes (we’re also waiting for a historically destructive earthquake, but I don’t like to think about it); the options for adventure are endless. Growing up in Seattle I’ve learned that when you’re lucky enough to get nice weather, you better get outside!

Leave a Reply

