*Insert Redhead Joke Here*

Screen Shot 2017-06-07 at 8.15.29 PMRecognizable Me

Hello class, my name is Gunnar Jaquez and let me start by saying redheads are awesome! If my title wasn’t a clear indication, I’m the redhead on the far left. The sun may give us sunburns quicker and we’re caught under the occasional reference to being a “ginger”, but I love every second of having red hair.

Okay, enough with the redhead blabber. I grew up in Aurora, CO, which is about 40 to 45 minutes outside of Boulder. Basically, I moved just far enough that my parents couldn’t have the chance to visit at every opportunity. I just completed my junior year at University of Colorado Boulder and I’m excited/nervous to start my last year of school in the fall. I’m studying marketing and hopefully completing a TAM certificate as well.

In my free time, I watch all kinds of sports. My favorite sports to watch are football and basketball. I will always be a diehard Broncos fan, so if you’re a Raiders or Chiefs fan watch out (just kidding). I occasionally go to the mountains and fish whenever I’m able to.

Where I’m At

I’ve lived in Colorado my whole life. The more places I travel to the more I can’t think of being in any other place! Currently, I’m living in Boulder for the summer. This is my second time of living in Boulder for the summer and it’s just as great as when everyone takes classes in the fall.

To pay the “bills” (Moe’s BBQ tabs), I work as a database intern at a company called Red Dot Storage. Based out of Colorado, I’m lucky to be surrounded by a great culture and group of people. Red Dot specializes in being an owner/operator of self storage facilities mostly in the midwest (for now at least). Not the flashiest of industries, but you’d be surprised how much money people spend to store their extra junk.

What I Want

Like a few others have mentioned in their posts, I wasn’t completely sure what I wanted when I came to college. After starting on an accounting path similar to my parents, I soon discovered that numbers weren’t really my forte and that I wanted to explore other options. Eventually, I took a few marketing classes and was instantly hooked.

However, what I hope to get out of this class is a more professional sense of what is acceptable format/type of writing in the business world. I find that communication, both verbal and written, is necessary in the current job market and I hope that this class will prepare me for what to expect. In the future, I either want to create my own company or contribute and grow with a startup.

Where to Find Me

A little bit more about me is that I love anything and everything about hip-hop/rap. I religiously follow Complex for the newest up and coming artists and am always willing to argue what song I like better on a new album. If I had to choose my favorite artists as of right now it would be a battle between Travi$ Scott, Future, and J Cole. All three of these artist I could listen to their music all day and not get sick of it.

nitish-meena-111116

If you want to find me, I’ll be wandering down Pearl Street soaking up the Boulder sun when I’m not at work. When I’m not in Boulder, my favorite spots to go fishing are located deep in the mountains full of the various lakes and rivers. For what I like to think are witty instagram captions, you can find me by searching my first and last name.

Leave a Reply

