Proof of Existence

Hola Amigos! ¿Que Pasa?

My name is Christopher Piacentini and I am a student in Writing 3040: Business Writing & Society. Here is a picture of  me with a young doggo that proves I really exist. In a nutshell, I love people, sports, music, doggos, memes, tequila, and classic cinema.picture

I am aged 23 years on the bone, and I was born and raised in Seattle, Washington. I grew up in a big Italian family so I speak loudly and I prefer to communicate with my hands.

I was a normal kid, and I suppose I still am.

A story that accurately summates my childhood, (Yes, summate is a word. I looked it up) is that when I was 8, I convinced my father that I was blind so I could leave school early to watch cartoons. So maybe I wasn’t “normal’.

Now, however, I am no longer pretending to be impaired, and I am college educated. Recently, I just finished my IRL college career at the University of Colorado in Boulder, and I graduated with a Bachelors Degree in Communication Studies with a focus on Argumentation, Rhetorical Analysis, and Interpersonal Communication. Fascinating, right?

Any who, in my spare time I like to produce Hip-Hop and make rap songs with my friends. I also run a non-profit internet radio station called Average Radio with my degenerate buds. Each episode features a weekly hour long music and discussion series curated by yours truly  and the music styles is include Hip-Hop, Dance, R&B, Pop, Latin, Dancehall, Alternative, and probably whatever other weird shit you can think up. You can check it out here if you aren’t put off by my shameless plugging:  90s logo

http://www.soundcloud.com/avrgradio

Now that I am edumuhcated, I no longer live in Boulder. Upon finishing classes, I moved out to Los Angeles to pursue a career in the Music Industry, and I am currently interning at Atlantic Records in the A&R (Artists & Repertoire) department. For those that don’t know what that is, which is everyone, it basically means that I get to sit around and listen to new music all day, and then I tell my bosses which songs I like best. Its great! With a bit of luck, I am hoping that I can turn my obsession of digging for new music into an actual paycheck. Fingers crossed.

But let’s get down to brass tax. The reason why I am writing here today is because, in school, I never took Business courses or learned to operate in a business climate. Now that I have transitioned to the professional world I have realized that my writing style is often not appropriate for a workplace environment. Most of my education has focused on either Creative or Academic writing, leaving a large blank area in the middle. I think that business writing is a practical skill that can be applied in any field or industry, and I would like to be able to write with the confidence and personality I exude in person.

I am hoping to gain from this class some practical applications for business writing and poise in my ability to write clearly, succinctly, and personally. I am looking forward to this class as much as I can look forward to any summer class and I hope to learn writing skills that I can use for the rest of my adult life.

Teach Me Your Ways Oh Wise One!

In the meantime, here’s some music!

Leave a Reply

