My Hippy Highschool

As I pulled my gigantic green Tundra onto grass parking lot of Haleakala Waldorf High School’s Kaluanui campus, I asked myself one question. “What am I doing here?” It was late in May and I had just gotten home from traveling. My online school work was done until the next semester. As I recall, the surf was good, but there I was touring the school for the day. It felt beyond weird being confined to a classroom, forced to sit at a desk in an archaic building with chalkboards all along the wall. I stuck it out the rest of the day and rushed to my truck to get out of there. As I was leaving, towering over the row of electric cars and Priuses, it was clear that I did not fit in. I went home and told my parents that there was no way I would ever go to school there. Adamant that I should experience at least one year of actual high-school before heading off to college, they ignored my request and signed me up. I was irate.A few months later, I started school. Getting up every morning at the same time, going to the same place, doing the same thing, conforming to their absurd regime was not something I was about to do (happily.) At Waldorf, many classes are taught outside, after the math and science portion of the day are done, it gets a little weird. The classes that are taught are things that not only have you probably never heard of, but you will never use, such as Transcendentalism. A three-week long class in which we looked at poetry, enjoyed nature and went bird watching, all to try and transcend our minds into being more appreciative of the little things around us. There were many crazy classes like this one. You may be saying to yourself, “Is your diploma real?” or “Are you on drugs?” And trust me, I thought this was

A few months later, I started school. Getting up every morning at the same time, going to the same place, doing the same thing, conforming to their absurd regime was not something I was about to do (happily.) At Waldorf, many classes are taught outside, after the math and science portion of the day are done, it gets a little weird. The classes that are taught are things that not only have you probably never heard of, but you will never use, such as Transcendentalism. A three-week long class in which we looked at poetry, enjoyed nature and went bird watching, all to try and transcend our minds into being more appreciative of the little things around us. There were many crazy classes like this one. You may be saying to yourself, “Is your diploma real?” or “Are you on drugs?” And trust me, I thought this was the most ridiculous waste of my time, money and education, on the planet. I went through the rest of the year with a horrible attitude, not showing up to school as often as I should have, only for tests and quizzes, or to turn in papers and homework. But while I wasn’t in school, something changed inside me. I started seeing the beauty that was around me, I started to see just how lucky I was to live in the beautiful place that I live. Subconsciously, all the crazy classes, all the time spent out in the garden (our version of a quad) taking lei making classes and weaving baskets rubbed off on me.

In my opinion, the best education is a diverse one, and that is what I got from Waldorf. A very diverse education. I see things in myself, in others, and in nature, that I believe I would not have been able to see today without attending Waldorf. When I started to see this and realize why I was being taught all of this seemingly like crazy hippy dippy mumbo jumbo, the school year was coming to an end and I would soon be leaving forCO. Now, of course, I couldn’t wait to leave, but I was thankful that I went there. I was leaving high-school with a new outlook on everything, I felt older and more mature. I couldn’t wait to see what the future held.

DCIM100GOPROGOPR0476.JPGLooking back on my days of high-school I laugh a lot. I went to a school where GMO products were banned, where you would be scolded for using plastic bags, and where they still gave high-school seniors crayons. (the organic ones of course) But when it comes down to it, they taught me more about myself and the world than any other school previously had. I am glad that I went there.

Leave a Reply

