Introducing Billy!

Recognizable me: Hello, everyone! My name is Bill Canfield and I am from Scituate, Massachusetts. Scituate is a small, coastal town roughly thirty miles south of Boston. Fishing is one of our most prominent industries, and growing up my family had about half a dozen lobster traps. Of course this was not enough for commercial use, but it was a lot of fun to pull traps in the summer!

 

I originally came to Colorado because I love to ski and have never been this far west before. I was initially attending the University of Colorado at Colorado Springs (UCCS), but after my freshman year I decided to transfer to their Boulder campus.  I love Boulder and I think that transferring was one of the greatest decision I have every made!

IMG_0511 (1)

P.S. It’s my mom’s birthday tomorrow so here’s a picture of us hiking in Estes Park!

Where I’m at: I am finally back in Boulder after living in Cambridge, Massachusetts with my brother for the last month. Earlier this summer, I took a road trip from Colorado down through Texas and then up the coast in order to get back to Massachusetts. While I was in Cambridge, I took a summer course at Harvard on organizational economics and behavioral management. It was an extremely awesome experience. I drove back last weekend and it took me thirty hours to get here, but I am definitely excited to be back!

I am going to be a senior this fall working towards a degree in economics. For a little over a year now, I have been interning in Denver with the commercial real estate firm, Colliers International. I work with their office space team and am hoping to continue working in commercial real estate when I graduation.

What I want: The main reason I am taking online courses this summer is to gain upper division elective credits to ensure that I graduate on time. Having said that, I wanted to choose courses that would be relevant to both my major and my industry.

I think business writing skills are essential in any line of work. However, at my job I am required to correspond via email with a variety of different people and sometimes I need to create business documents such market reports or lease abstracts. I am hoping that by taking this course I am able to expand my business writing skills and improve my ability to complete routine assignments at work.

Where to find me: In my spare time, I love skiing, snowboarding, hiking or pretty much any outdoor activity. When I am back home in Massachusetts, I like to go paddle boarding, fishing or just cruising around on a boat. As much as I love being in Colorado, I really miss being on the ocean.

I also love traveling! As I mention before, I went on a pretty epic road trip to kickstart the summer. Some of my favorite stops included New Orleans, Nashville, Baltimore and New York City. It was amazing to me how unique the culture is within different states and I think the best way to experience this is through road trips.

As for music, I am a big fan of all different genres. The only kind of music that I am not particularly fond of is maybe classical, but other than that I like all music. I used to play the guitar and piano but I haven’t played in a few years so I am probably not very good anymore. Maybe someday I will get back into it.

I don’t really use social media simply because I don’t really get the point of most of them. I do have a Linkedin account, but I use it strictly for client prospecting at work.

 

Leave a Reply

