A Couple Days in the life of Stephanie

Recognizable Me:

Processed with VSCO with 5 preset

I am extremely people oriented, this much I know. I always thought of myself as an observer and protector, it kills me to see friends in pain, always has. It wasn’t until my freshman year at CU that I was able to truly define my personality. In my RAP class, we were required to take a personality test (you all know the one I’m talking about) which, once completed, would tell you a little about your type and the careers best suited for you. I was the only one (surprise, surprise) out of the entire class to receive the INFJ-Advocate personality type. Learning this about myself has allowed me to strengthen my “advocate” identity and dive all in to what I am truly passionate about.

That being said, it took me awhile to find this passion in higher education. I’ve switched majors more than I would like to admit because, with my perfectionist attitude and willingness to help wherever I am needed, no one major felt like it truly suited me and my all-encompassing passions and interests. Finally, two and a half years in, I have chosen to major in humanities with an emphasis in sociology and communication. The major itself allows me to dip my toes into all the arts and sciences college has to offer, while the emphasis I have chosen challenges me and prepares me for a people oriented career, whatever that may end up being.

Where I’m at:

This summer I have, unwillingly, lived a Project 333 lifestyle. I have lived out of a suitcase for the past month and a half and I will continue to live out of said suitcase for the next two. I lived on a boat for the first half of the summer, traveling all around the Mediterranean and Middle East and recently just found myself living in a new city with a new part time job. In a word, this summer has been hectic, but I wouldn’t change it for the world.

What I want:

I am taking this class for more than just the obvious major requirement. I have always been good at creative writing and thus, academic papers and applications of any sort are always filled with adjectives and just general “fluff”. I decided to take this class because my conversational writing style will not get me far in my future career(s). No matter what I end up doing in my life, I consider this course to be one of those courses that I will actually use (almost) everyday.

Where to find me:

For someone with a lot of stories to tell and pictures to share, I am surprisingly behind my millennial generation in regards to how many social platforms I have. I have one, just the lonely instagram account, my handle is @ stephtk_.

In my free time, I am often found in the gym playing club volleyball, at a concert, or at the movie theaters seeing the latest in blockbuster hits. I’ve played volleyball for the past 9 years and even as a “young adult” (I hardly feel qualified enough for this title) I can never imagine giving it up. In regards to my unhealthy movie watching obsession, I’m in the process of checking off every major movie I have seen in the past 10 years. I don’t know whether to be semi-proud or extremely embarrassed, but I expect the number to be astronomically high for someone with very little free time.

My current location like I said earlier, is a small desk in a small, hidden hallway in an office in a new city. You can catch me there Monday through Friday’s.

 

Leave a Reply

