My name is Bong, Hendrik Bong.

IMG_5198

Recognisable you: Hello everyone. My name is Hendrik Bong. Yes, I do have an interesting last name. I am 21 years old, born and raised in Hong Kong. I can speak Cantonese, Mandarin and English. I also learnt some Japanese and French when I was a kid, but obviously I am not fluent at them. Don’t get me wrong, my English isn’t good either, it is just not as terrible as my French and Japanese. So please excuse my poor writing and grammatical errors from time to time

As you can probably tell, I am an international student studying in the University of Colorado Boulder; I am a junior pursuing my economics and finance majors. I came all the way to Boulder from Hong Kong just for the beautiful mountains and landscapes. I enjoy seeing the flatiron everyday when I walk home from campus, and it is more breathtaking when the sky turns red and pink. Boulder is so different from Hong Kong. Boulder is quiet and peaceful when Hong Kong is busy and packed with people. But I love both places equally.

Where you’re at: I am now back home in Hong Kong for my summer holiday. It takes me 20 hours of flight back home from Denver. The flights can be tough sometimes, but I get homesick quite easily. So I usually go back to Hong Kong whenever I have more than a month of holidays.

For those of you who know nothing about Hong Kong, it is a tiny dot on the globe with 7.3 million people living in it. You can visualise Hong Kong as a concrete jungle with 20 floors buildings everywhere. The streets are usually crowded with people that you feel like walking to the carpark after a ballgame. Hong Kong is a part of China but was colonised by the British. So we got a completely different culture from China, but we are still Chinese (same same but different but still the same). I can never get enough of Hong Kong even I grew up in it because there is so much to do and see in this city. You guys should totally come visit if you have time.

What you want: I am not a good writer, but I am trying to get better at it by taking this class. I hope I can learn and improve my professional writing skills and writing skills in general from this class. I have never written professional writing before, so it would be my first time trying it. Excellent professional writing skills would help me to communicate my message to reader more efficiently and probably help me get better grades in other business courses.

Where to find you: I love basketball, both playing it and watching it. You will probably see me in the Rec Center “balling out” if I am back in Boulder. I spend most of my free time in the Rec center playing basketball. I like the competition there.  It just feels great to sweat occasionally. I am also a big gamer, been playing video games ever since I can remember. If I am not studying or playing basketball, most definitely I am playing video games. I am almost addicted to video games.

However being as dorky as I sound, I like travelling like a lot. I have been to five out of the seven continents. I went to London and Switzerland last summer. The photo above was taken in Phuket, Thailand this June. I am interested in different culture and of course trying the food in other countries. There is a Chinese saying “walking ten thousand miles of road is better than reading ten thousand scrolls of books”, and I would much rather travel than read (ha-ha).

Leave a Reply

