Wearing a Smile

Screen Shot 2017-07-12 at 7.48.12 PM

Madie Bailey in a nutshell:  

Greetings to all of 3040 and beyond! My name is Madeline Bailey, but you can call me Madie (yes it is spelled with one “d”). I was born in Aspen, Colorado and have been frolicking in the mountains ever since. I have a love for creating trouble (the good kind) and always am in search of new adventures, experiences and lessons of life. CU Boulder has had a special place in my heart since I first went to visit my brother there when I was just a sophomore in high school. The moment that I put my bags down in Cheyenne Arapaho, I knew that it was going to be the engagement of a lifetime and sure enough, it turned out to be just the place for me. The Leeds School of Business helped me discover my love for education, and I have found that it is one of the things that I cherish most in my life. How fortunate am I to be receiving a college education! At CU, I am studying Marketing while also pursuing certificates in both Global Business and Technology, Arts and Media.

In my life I find it hard to pinpoint one passion, and would rather involve myself in an array of endeavors as I feel it offers a knowledge that cannot be taught. As a singer, I am fascinated by music and find it to be one of my drives in life. I am a lover of travel and history which is why I decided to spend last semester studying in Berlin, Germany. While abroad I was able to travel, study the German language and culture, learn about the world and most importantly, learn about myself. I am a creative individual and am constantly brainstorming ways to bring art to my life and the lives of those around me. Overall, I would like to say that I am a genuine and kind wild child, who is always wearing a smile.

Current Placement in Life: Summer17

I have been back in the United States for a month and a half now, and since my return I have travelled to Boulder, Telluride, Denver, Wyoming, and am now officially settled into Aspen for the summer. I will begin my Senior year in the fall, and therefore am trying to enjoy what could be my last summer vacation. I am interning at a Marketing and Design firm called ZGMAD, where I can gain professional marketing experience in a boutique setting. I worked at the Telluride Bluegrass Festival as the assistant director of contests, and at the end of July will be volunteering for the Underground Music Festival. I will return to Boulder on August 11 and will then begin working as the Marketing Assistant at the University Memorial Center for the duration of the school year.

What would ya like?

Indeed, we are required to take an upper division writing course, but after completing this, I hope to gain more than just credits. I would like to understand business writing inside and out. I hope to feel confident in my writing abilities at any given moment, and be able to show them off in the duration of my schooling, as well as my future career. I was hesitant to sign up for an online course, but I believe that it will be convenient for my schedule, and will also offer a great deal of knowledge that I can carry with me when it is finished.

Come find me!

This summer, you will find me involved in the mountain lifestyle. Whether it be start-up events, interning, hiking, swimming, or working with local non-profits, I am constantly trying new things and playing in the mountains. You can also find me seeing my favorite artists live, such as The Growlers, Flume, and Kendrick Lamar.

Come fall, you will once again see me “cheesin” on campus, and soaking in as much as I possibly can. I will again be enveloping myself in the simple passions of life that drive me. Whether it be music, education, travel or perhaps the simple day-to-day pleasures, I am beyond grateful for the life that I live and am excited to experience my last year at CU Boulder.

Leave a Reply

