About Warren

IMG_1506Recognizable Me: Hey everyone, my name is Warren McClean. I’m from Kentfield, California a small town just outside of San Francisco. That’s me on the right with the Gardens of Versailles in the background. My parents were generous enough to bring me and my younger brother, Jack, along with them on the vacation they took there last May. I say “younger” and not “little” because he happens to be about three inches taller than me. I also have two older brothers, Charlie and Rusty, both of whom just bought their first house. I am about as far from buying a house as I am from growing three inches, so I have some catching up to do. Growing up with three brothers has always been a blast, and we never have a hard time finding new ways to get in trouble with our parents. We are a bit more spread out now than when we all lived at home, but visiting each other has always made for a good excuse to take a trip to San Diego, Las Vegas, or wherever we happen to be. In my case, I spend nearly all of my time in either Boulder or San Francisco, and I could not be happier doing so. I have found both places to be exceptionally beautiful and entertaining places to live and cannot imagine wanting to live anywhere else.

Where I’m at: In the Fall I will be starting my Senior year at the University of Colorado. I am pursuing a double major in Finance and Quantitative Economics and plan on studying law after I graduate. Looking back, I do not think I could have asked for a better college experience up until this point. My time in Boulder has been spent surrounded by my best friends and finding endless ways to get the most out of our four, short years there. After staying in Boulder for the last two Summers, I decided to head closer to home and spend this Summer living in San Francisco. I have been working as a Paralegal for Statewide Interpreters Corp. for the past couple months and find myself thoroughly enjoying the experience. To be honest, I took the job because I thought it would look good on a resume to be working as a Paralegal as an undergrad, but I have been delightfully surprised to find that I love the work I’m doing. The hours are tough, I often work fifty to sixty hours a week, but I never find it difficult to stay focused or keep working when I am so interested in what I’m doing. The experience has made me much more confident in my decision to pursue a career in law.

What I want: In the past, I have never thought of classes like this to be particularly helpful. Writing, to me, has always seemed very straight-forward, and I have always found that I learn more about writing from day-to-day business than I have from taking a class. That being said, I have already found the contents of this class to be both valuable and applicable. I usually spend most of my day reading and responding to various types of legal briefs, and I encounter some of the methods we have discussed so far on a daily basis. Ultimately, I think this class will help me to identify different writing strategies and become more fluid in conveying my thoughts.

Where to find me: When I am not at work or in class, you can find me in Sausalito or the Marina with my friends. On the weekends, I like to spend whatever time I can by the pool or trying to catch dice before they fall off tables. I have remained passionately interested in football throughout my life and play tennis whenever I get the chance. Since moving to Colorado, I have also developed a newfound love for skiing and golf. Whatever I am doing, and wherever I am doing it, the most important thing to me is that I am with my friends, so if you ever do need to know where to find me, call one of them.

Leave a Reply

